We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and a quirky cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CME8000
1 review
“Perfect location and a quirky cottage.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The location couldn't have been better, just two minutes from the town centre and the Pavilion Gardens. The cottage was much more spacious than we expected and the kitchen was pretty well equipped. The only slight downside was the lack of Wi-Fi and poor mobile phone reception but overall I would definitely recommend this cottage for a stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith0...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay and use as a base”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellant accomadation that is well situated. We used the place as a base to visit many of the attractions in the area and after a full day we found the local ammenities more than adequate

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic venue for a wonderful weekend break!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our weekend stay was started with opening the door to the wonderful accommodation. There is a "horsey" theme throughout the house, and the rooms are a lot more spacious than we thought from the details. The situation of the property means that the high street is only a short hop away and there is plenty of awe inspiring scenery waiting to be discovered within a very small walk! A wonderful weekend in a wonderful property!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter with family in fun setting”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I booked The Old Stables to accommodate eight of us (family get together) for the Easter weekend. We found the house to be very well suited to our family with comfortable bedrooms, clean and well fitted bathrooms, equipped kitchen and comfortable living space (two lounges - although neither would seat us all without extra chairs). The house was perfectly positioned in Buxton with plenty of pubs, shops and supermarkets nearby. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quirky
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBS4
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We booked the old stables for a girly weekend away and found it to be really comfortable. We were all pleasantly surprised by how spacious the cottage is as from the outside it looked tiny. It's close to the centre of Buxton which was great for us and had everything we needed for a great weekend away. (Spa, shopping, food and drink) There was a bottle of red wine waiting for us when we arrived, and lots of local info.

The cottage is very warm and we all ended up opening the windows and turning the heaters off for most of the stay. As there was only 7 of us we could comfortable sit round the bigger table but sitting in the living room was a bit of a squeeze. (maybe throw in a couple more comfy chairs or a bigger couch?)

We really enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this holiday let to anyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing