We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place for a family with young...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple House

Apple House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple House cottage
Garden Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Apple House cottage
Garden
Living room
Kitchen
Main bedroom - king size bed
2nd bedroom - twin beds
Bathroom
View towards Black Mountains
View towards Hill Fort
View from cottage
Dining area - extendable table seats upto 6
From where we fish - 250 yards of single bank private fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew W
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for a family with young children.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, 18-month-old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. The property was excellent and to a high standard. The location was perfect, my daughter particularly enjoyed exploring the garden and seeing animals, such as rabbits and horses. We intend to come back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bate...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A highly recommendable place to stay, especially with children and dogs”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly recommend Apple House, and hope very much to return for a longer stay. We stayed for 5 nights and wished that we had booked for longer as there was a lot more we would have liked to do.

We were met by Richard and Caroline who are very helpful cheery people along with their children and two dogs Molly and Cooper. Molly (a young Newfoundlander)is delightful (and safe with children) and pays many visits. However, if you don't want the dogs to visit there is a gate to shut should you feel the need. Reading all the reviews most people, and us, were delighted to have Molly around. The garden at the back of the cottage has stunning views of the local hills and sheep, with horses in the fields outside the front of the cottage which is well away from the road. Rabbits run arund the local fields and there are birds everywhere. We tried out the hammock and it was surprisingly comfortable.

The cottage itself is fabulous and maintained to a very high standard. The lounge has a woodburner and you are provided with plenty of logs, with more in the barn if you need them. The lounge has doors that upen up fully. The garden has a BBQ and fire pit (and hammock as already mentioned). The kitchen has with stone tiled floor, dishwasher and wash/tumble dryer. Bathroom also fab with heated towel rail, plenty of towells and a really 'really' good shower! Upsatairs rooms have exposed beams and are light and airy. Comfortable beds and plenty of hangers in the wardrobes.

Richard and Caroline are really nice people who do not hesitate to help. They leave their numbers in the book so you can call them whenever necessary. On arrival there is bread, milk, eggs and some lovely welsh cakes (hand made by mother in law). If you need to know anything about the area Richard and Caroline can help.

Llyswen is great location for exploring the Brecon Beacons. We also spent a day in Cardiff (fabulous!). We walked to the local pub's for dinner in the evenings if we didn't want to cook. Molly, the dog, seems to be known by everyone in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful and tasteful design of the cottage and Molly
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christina...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage in beautiful surroundings-can highly recommend it.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

All round excellent find. Very thoughtful welcome pack and friendly greeting from Richard and Caroline, who had answered my queries before our arrival promptly and helpfully. We had the impression that they wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
The cottage was spotlessly clean with lovely décor and furniture- all to a very high standard. Very effective, cosy log stove.
Lovely, peaceful, private garden with hammock and barbecue area.
All the rooms have lovely windows and views. 5 minute walk to local shop and River Wye.
Beautiful area all year round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$117
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing