We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply amazing place!”
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two. Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two.
Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
View of Market Street apartments from below.
Well equiped modern kitchen with washer/dryer, dish washer and gas hobs.
King size bed with Egyptian white cotton linen.
Smooth granite dining table with ornamental bowl.
Modern, well equipped kitchen
Modern bathroom with bath tub and walk-in shower.
Open living style with high quality furnishings
External view - Butter Market on first floor, Rooftops on second floor.
Views across quaint Hay-on-Wye
Medieval butter market located below the apartments
Views across Hay to the countryside beyond
Fabulous bookshops for browsing and exploring
Hay-on-Wye streets with view to historic clocktower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amastude
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply amazing place!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

An incredible experience and stay. The flat could not have been situated in a better position. Bang centre of Hay, a stones throw away from all book shops and main eating areas. The flat is perfect. It's new & modern but yet cosy and, as they say - idyllic. The photos don't do it justice. For those that like cooking - the Kitchen is fully stocked, immaculately clean and very spacious. At night the flat is silent and the bed is very comfy.

We didn't meet Callum and Poppy but I had multiple text and email exchanges prior to our arrival, and they even helped arrange a surprise in advance! Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a lovely flat! Was beautifully designed, in a great location, and cosy. It was clean, very comfortable & Poppy was helpful and informative. Had everything we needed, and I have already been telling all my friends to get booking this wonderful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldentig...
Hants
2 reviews
“Stylish and comfortable well-equipped appartment conveniently placed in the centre of Hay.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This recently renovated appartment in a lovely old Georgian building was extremely tastefully decorated and furnished, with homely touches such as flowers, attractive lamps, comfy sofa, docking station, books and pictures. Every convenience was provided including a delicious welcome pack of local goodies to start off our weekend. All the essentials are also there such as cling film, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc. Lorna and Poppy were extremely helpful and pulled out all the stops to prepare everything speedily for our last minute booking. Hay is a lovely place to stay everything was literally on the doorstep. We left our car in the car park for the entire weekend and enjoyed being able to walk to some of the good choice of local restaurants in the evening. There is also an interesting deli, (nice sausage rolls) good butchers and greengrocers and the fully equipped kitchen has everything necessary to prepare a meal. Our time was spent pottering around the shops, walking a beautiful 10 mile route up Hay bluff and back, and a Sunday morning run through the fields (27 stiles, ouch) and back along the riverpath. This is also a great place for cycling and canoeing; we hope to return in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EClark81
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment in a Great Location”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Buttermarket is a lovely apartment furnished to a high standard and fully equipped with everything you could need for a holiday. Its in a great location next to the market in the centre of Hay-on-Wye.
Everything we hoped for! We will definitely be returning!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBEyes
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good...... it should be kept top secret”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A place of loveliness, a home from home

Even the booking experience was professional with an added personal touch. Before we arrived I received an email giving me details for suggested walks, from a gentle stroll to a full day of hiking. Callum couldn’t have been more helpful in providing local information.

The location was perfect, quiet, but right in the heart of Hay on Wye.

On arrival, there was a homemade cake, bread, fresh eggs and milk and marmalade in the fridge, so we had refreshments after the long drive and something for breakfast the next morning
The apartment itself is luxurious and comfortable, the attention to detail and quality finishes offer you all you could need and more. Perfect for a romantic stay, group or family, the two large bedrooms have huge comfortable beds and crisp linen. The loft bedroom has a real wow factor and the walk in shower is enormous!

The kitchen is extremely well equipped with high end cutlery, crockery and utensils. Wi-Fi is high speed and the living room spacious, you can comfortably get 4-6 people seated on the sofas, or snuggle up as a couple under the throws

I cannot rate my stay highly enough, I also cannot fault it…I didn’t want to leave

If you are looking for accommodation in Hay on Wye, look no further, you’ve found it, but shhhhhh don’t tell everyone or they’ll all want to stay and your secret haven will always be booked up

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;