We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilverts Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$212
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
56
68
33
19
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
68
33
19
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiessteak and ale piebeautiful roomgarden areafriday eveningone night staylog firevisiting haywarm welcomedogalesrugbybreconensuitepubscharacter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend was sick and the staff were really accommodating. We arrived at 1.30pm and check in is at 2pm and they had a full house of departures so weren't quite ready but made sure our room was ready by 2pm so my friend could lie down. Unfortunately the bed was made up into a double instead of twin (this was not the B&Bs fault but info sent to them from booking sites) and they immediately rectified this - Pauline and Roxy were very sweet and super accommodating. We then asked staff if we could have some food bought up to the room, as it's not normally something they offer but asked because my friend was sick, and again they were really good about it and bought it up for us. Food was really nice. Thank you for a lovely, accommodating stay :)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank spice1982r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Came here from the Old Black Lion for food. The food served to me was excellent, however the pie my husband ordered was not to his taste, the young man serving listened to our comments and reduced the bill accordingly. It is not what is wrong, but how it s dealt with. Would return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank janesm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Decided last minute on a 2 night stay in Hay and this place is perfect for our young family. Staff are friendly and helpful. The views and outdoor space were better than expected considering how central this is. The food was also lovely and the ales good. Would recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We had a month touring around the UK, and Kilverts was definitely one of our highlights for accommodation. We had a fantastic room, with a four poster bed and a Jacuzzi! (I think the room was recently upgraded as everything looked very new). Great lunch - tried the game pie which was delicious. Hay-on-Wye is a delightful small town with over 30 second had bookshops and antique shops. If this is your thing, you must stay at Kilverts which is so central to everything. We spent the afternoon happily browsing through the shops. Later, not really wanting to eat a full meal and enjoying our beautiful room, I sent my plus one down to order a snack - the cheese platter and 'pudding of the week' seemed a good choice. He returned a while later with the biggest cheese platter (for one) I had ever seen. But best of all the 'pudding' turned out to be pancakes, and the chef very kindly returned to the kitchen to cook two enormous pancakes stuffed with berries. We just managed the pancakes and packed the cheese platter away for our onward journey the next day. We felt so welcomed and looked after here. Thank you for such wonderful hospitality. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jennyandjohnSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

We booked at very short notice and managed to secure the family room at Kilverts. It was very roomy and gave us (a family of four) lots of space -- we even had a sofa to lounge on.
As noted elsewhere Kilverts is very cosy and the staff were extremely warm and welcoming, most especially the young bar man who appears to run the entire bar and restaurant operation.
After a stroll around Hay we decided to eat at the pub and -- on a freezing February day -- thoroughly enjoyed the superb homemade pies, with mash and veg. Portions were gargantuan but they do scale it back for children! We tested several local craft beers and my husband enjoyed a snifter of Penderyn, a superb Welsh whiskey.
Breakfast the next morning was equally good. Freshly cooked and generous with lots of choice.
No complaints from us, just a few observations; breakfast was set up in a room which was extremely cold and several people were wearing outdoor jackets to eat there. Yet just next to it was a lovely room with a large fire blazing away. I'd strongly recommend that breakfast tables are set up there in the winter months.
Some of the furniture is a little knocked about and there's a bit of swirly carpet here and there but we loved it and would definitely recommend for great value, a warm welcome, good, traditional food and a great location in a really lovely little town.

Room Tip: Family suite had a kingsize bed and two very comfortable full size camp beds. The room was at the back and quiet in February.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayTapManager, Owner at Kilverts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

We are overwhelmed by your praise - thank you!
Thanks also for the heads up about the breakfast room. Unfortunately its a bit difficult to accommodate a full hotel of people in the fire-warmed restaurant but we're going to put some extra heating in until we find a longer term solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews