We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was the most amazing place to stay that we...”
other traveller has booked this property
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Rathellen House Front Hall.JPG
Rathellen House Front hall and dining room.JPG
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Rathellan House drawing room (Small)
Drawing room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
A Civil Wedding Ceremony at Rathellen House - the final preparations!
Rathellen House: Drawing room with fire place
Library
Library
Dining Room
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Dining Room
Dining room
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Rathellen House Bedroom 2 JPG
Bedroom 2.
The Entrance Hall mantle piece decorated for Halloween
Bedroom 2. 6 foot double bed or twin option.
Rathellen House Bedroom 3.JPG
Bedroom 5. Double Bedroom with Large Shower Ensuite
Bedroom 4. Double Bedroom with Antique French Bed and Large Shower ensuite
Rathellen House Kitchen JPG
Rathellen House Kitchen.JPG
Kitchen shelves
Kitchen pots
Kitchen pots and pans
Front door in the snow .JPG
Getting married at Rathellen House - the bride and groom in the Entrance Hall
Rathellen House
Rathellen House in the snowJPG
Front Door
Herb Garden at Rathellen House
Front Door
Ready for a walk?
Rathellen House Trifle!
Rathellen House Buffet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tipperary, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rosetreeS...
seattle, wa.
1 review
“This was the most amazing place to stay that we could ever hope for.”
Reviewed 14 October 2009 for a stay in July 2009

Terrific accommodations for our family group of 25. We were not crowded. The bedrooms and bathrooms exceeded our expectations. We did a lot of meal preparations in the fabulous commercial kitchen which has huge fridge and freezer space, and every utensil,pot, pan, bowl you could ever use. There are enough dishes , silver, and glasses for more than a hundred people. The dining room comfortably seated us all. The spacious living room and library are beautifully decorated with quality furniture and tasteful art objects. The owners are exceptional, considerate people, who have built this fabulous place with loving care. Everything is quality! We loved it. Anyone would.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happywand...
Yorkshire
1 review
“A mini stately home off the beaten track”
Reviewed 1 October 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Rathellen House has the wow factor!
A large elegant house of georgian design but only three years old in a rural setting.
We were upgraded to the master suite with a four poster bed and found everything superb. The attention to detail throughout the house was amazing.
The breakfast served on fine bone china was a real treat and there was plenty of choice.
In addition to the cooked breakfast we particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice, the fresh raspberries and the home made scones.
Only criticism - facilities for making our own tea or coffee would have been nice.
Stella and Eamonn made us very welcome and we would certainly return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ella80
London
1 review
“What a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 9 September 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Rathellen house in one of the nicest B&B's I have stayed in. The house is a newly built Georgian house tucked away nicely in the country side. It is beautifully decorated and the people who work there are extremely friendly.
The room was big & comfortable with a four poster bed. The bathroom is clean and big with a huge shower. But the most amazing thing about this place has to be the food. The breakfast is delicious, we had the choice of muesli, cereals & fresh fruit but also opted for a cooked breakfast where we had organic eggs & salmon with toast. All cooked to perfection at any time you want.
Truly an amazing, relaxing place. We loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portygirl...
Kilkenny
1 review
“Who needs a five star hotel when you have Rathellen guest house”
Reviewed 10 May 2009 for a stay in May 2009

This is a beautiful guest house, decorated to a very high standard. The owners are friendly and attentive. The beds are so comfortable and only for the fabulous breakfast we couldn't have got out of them. Home made scones and flapjacks are just some of the special extra details. This guest house is ideal if you are attending a wedding in nearby Kilshane.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan B
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“live like gentry here”
Reviewed 19 April 2009 for a stay in April 2009

Live like gentry in this fabulous retreat away from the hustle and bustle of modern life.

We stayed at Rathellen House for two nights B&B and one dinner whilst on a hill walking trip in the nearby Galty Mountains. The house is magnificent and although just a couple of years old, gives the impression of a dwelling built for gentry in a foregone age. Stella and Eamonn gave us a very friendly wecome with tea, coffee and home made biscuits upon arrival.

The room was comfortable with a great bathroom and lovely furniture. However Rathellen's 'piece de resistance' is their food. For breakfast we chose the really fresh fruit and yogurt, and beautifully cooked scrambled eggs and bacon (we could have had cereals and the 'Full Irish' too).

After a hard day's walking, our welcome dinner consisted of a lovely potato and leek soup starter which was really light and a gorgeous trio of fish for main course followed by rhubarb crumble. It was magnificent. Afterwards we retired to the huge log fire in the drawing room.

Rathellen House is on the edge of the Glen of Aherlow and 15 minutes from Clydagh Bridge, a popular starting point for the Slievecushnabinnia 786m / Galtymore 919m / Galtybeg 799m / Cush 630m horseshoe walk. It is also ideally suited for less challenging walks on Slievemuck Ridge.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing