We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakgrove Cottage

A rare rural retreat to absorb local wildlife and walks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rare rural retreat to absorb local wildlife and walks
Relaxation with views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
A rare rural retreat to absorb local wildlife and walks
Relaxation with views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dudleyhor...
Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed an excellent week at Oakgrove. The accommodation was very comfortable, the surroundings extremely relaxing and the entertainment, provided by the local badgers, was unique.
We went to this area to enjoy the walking and we were not disappointed. After a energetic day walking in this beautiful area it was a pleasure to be able to relax in Oakgrove and its surroundings. The wildlife visiting the garden was the icing on the cake.

Dudley & Ann Horner

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We hope to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvyn R
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful week spent in a wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I have just spent an idyllic week staying at Oakgrove Cottage. It certainly lived up to the description provided on the Holiday Lettings website and more. Both my wife and I have been fortunate in being able to travel the world and as the saying goes, have seen that, done that and brought the T shirt, by booking a holiday in the Forest of Dean we were looking for a retreat to spend a week relaxing away from traffic and noise and general hussle and bussle of urban life. We most certainly found peace and tranquility at Oakgrove cottage. The location is superb the cottage is surrounded by trees yet when the sun shines the patio and lawns are bathed in sunshine. The wildlife that visit the garden is exceptional during our weeks stay we were treated to a wide ranch of wild birds, nuthatches, robins, coletits, bluetits,chiffchaffs, two different types of woodpeckers and many other species. A number of badgers visited the patio nightly, we saw squirrels, rabbits,a fox and were honoured with a visit by a cock pheasant on a number of occasions.
The cottage is also an ideal base for those who who enjoy walking.
Paul and Gina Butler were wonderful hosts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
We are so pleased you loved our beautiful part of the world and hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evesnan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr & mrs”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We can't rate this high enough, what an absolutely amazing place. We had one wonderful week here but we will be going back. We woke everyday to find the pair of pheasants waiting for breakfast and went to bed every night after seeing the badgers have their supper. !!! We filled the bird feeders daily and got so many different birds on it...blue tits, coal tits, great tits,bullfinch, robins, nuthatches, dunnocks , chaffinches...even the great spotted woodpecker tried to get on several times. We also saw a pair of green woodpeckers on the lawn, a group of long tailed tits passed through....your own little piece of paradise...so quiet and relaxing. The owners Gina and Paul made us feel very welcome and even though the cottage is in the grounds of their home we always had our own private space but had the reassurance that they are there if you need them. There is plenty of information in the cottage regarding walks and places of interest etc. Check it out..go see for yourselves..you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H
1 review
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Oakgrove Cottage. It is so quiet and peaceful! We loved seeing all the visitors to the garden including the badger (every night) and at one point an owl. There are plenty of opportunities to walk in the countryside and local places to visit or see. Also, a good local pub (The Brockweir) is in easy walking distance - always a bonus! We were also made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. We would absolutely recommend this as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect stay in a loverly cottage. Gina and Paul were very helpful. Wildlife was brilliant plenty
Of bird life and the high light was badgers every night. Could not have asked for anything more. Lots to do in the area Tintern Abbey well worth a visit. The Forest of Dean plenty to do
and see.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$101
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing