We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy property”
other traveller has booked this property
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window
The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Wood Burning Stove
Bring luggage in small suitcases, it will need to go up these stairs!
The Kitchen, with hob, oven, fridge and small freezer
The Lounge area, comfortable leather sofa in front of the fire
Your View of the Gatehouse as you arrive: if you arrive in snow that is!
View from the front door...you go up the companionway ladder to sleep!
More views of the lounge area
Stone Mullion Window
Another view of the bed area
The Door to go downstairs
The view from the kitchen
The floorplan
From the Front of the Gatehouse
Courtyard House seen from the Top of the Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Beverley...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy property”
Reviewed 21 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

The Welsh Gatehouse is a lovely cosy place to stay - very important in October! We didn't use the wood-burner, but we didn't need to as the electric heating was super efficient. Taking a cup of tea onto the roof was a great treat.

The kitchen is very well equipped and the welcome basket plus the butter and milk in the fridge were a very thoughtful touch.

We'd echo the owners' recommendations to bring a pair of slippers and use the dressing room rather than taking your luggage up to the sleeping area. I loved the fluffy dressing gowns - very snuggly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2018
Dear Beverley, thank you so much for your kind review. Its always lovely to hear that our guests enjoy their stay and that their views of the Gatehouse confirms our own personal feelings. Hope its not too long before we can welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pia-Isabe...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exemplary place for a perfect and really romantic break”
Reviewed 1 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

With a need to get away and have a break, it was the perfect weekend for us. Really unusual, totally secluded and absolutely private, the 'castle-like-place' felt as if we had been whisked back in time with all the comforts of today.

Sadly, just as we were getting used to being 'King and Queen of the Castle' we had to leave and return to 'real' life, though with some great recollections of this place and our weekend. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the 'castle' . Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D8661RYma...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing few days in a romantic stunning venue”
Reviewed 25 September 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The gatehouse is a stunning property with miles of peaceful walks and coastline nearby. The welcome basket set the tone for a fab few nights in a unique, warm and cosy hideaway

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2018
Dear Garth

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Welsh Gatehouse and its beautiful surrounding areas.

Thank you for your lovely review and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Jaw-dropper, show-stopper”
Reviewed 21 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The approach sets you up nicely, and the view of the stunning old house and garden from inside the gate builds the anticipation. After ascending the 30-step spiral staircase...turning the massive key...opening the door...and you'll have to visit to find out the rest. Why give away a good ending? Atmospheric yet cosy, large scale yet compact, is all I'll say. The welcome basket is as lovely a thought as its contents, and the estate's history is a must-read (got to go back to finish it!). We plan to return in colder days, as we're sure it'll be the most romantic cuddle-up ever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2018
Dear Brian

Just a few lines to thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We are very appreciative of people who take time to give us feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari260...
1 review
“Truly unique property for an exceptional break”
Reviewed 20 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Beautiful place, good base for Chepstow and the National Dive Centre. Nothing on earth is better than a champagne on the turret. Juliet, the host, was lovely

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2018
Many thanks for your kind review.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the Welsh Gatehouse to be a good base. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the champagne!

Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing