We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem on the Secret Coast!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steven K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the Secret Coast!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked The School House as a quick getaway from Glasgow in July 2017 after some stressful weeks at work. An hour and half's drive from Glasgow (with quick ferry trip) and we were transported to a completely different place altogether! The location of Knockdow is amazing....the Cowal Peninsula is a hidden gem in Argyll - quiet, peaceful and brimming with wildlife. There are some great beaches and beautiful restaurants within an hours drive or less.

The house itself is stunning - lovingly restored and in beautiful grounds near to the coast. The School House was beautifully presented and felt like a home from home immediately. Fatima is an amazing hostess and she made us feel extremely welcome indeed. We were even left with a freshly baked cake, shortbread and a lovely bottle of Rioja.

Despite it being a rainy weekend, we had the times of our lives for the couple of days we spent at Knockdow and we are already planning our next trip!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey P
2 reviews
“Stunning!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Knockdow is absolutely amazing! This Estate is picture perfect in every way, shape and form, it's location is stunning with beautiful Mountains, lush green fields surrounded by sparkling Lochs. The hospitality was excellent, the owners were so helpful. I really enjoyed the room, plenty of space with lots of great amenities. The perfect Scottish Estate! Highly recommended!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely peaceful stay in The Schoolhouse. The facilities in the apartment are excellent, the kitchen is well equipped and the welcome is exceptionally warm.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ce_Ee1
2 reviews
“Amazing weekend!”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Such a lovely place, the interior beautifully decorated and picturesque surroundings. We were so spoiled with personalised recommendations, and little touches such as the fire being lit for our return or the lift to the restaurant so that we could try some whiskys. Incredible stay, thanks a lot!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahrobe...
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The School House, Knockdow”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Where to start... what a wonderful four days we spent at Knockdow. From first contact Fatima could not have been more helpful. A warm Scottish welcome from everyone at the Estate on our arrival. Andrea showed us around our suite and shared some local knowledge which was very useful. Homemade cake, shortbread and a lovey bottle of wine as a welcome gift was a special touch.
The standard of finish at Knockdow is truly outstanding! and attention to detail is second to none.
This is a beautiful country home which has been restored with so much love, you instantly you feel it.
It took our breath away. I have stayed in many five star establishments and I have to say I'd put this one right at the top!
Original features have been retained where they could. Just listening to all the stories of the renovations are enthralling.
Grounds are spectacular! The ponds are beautiful and so relaxing to walk around.
We met John, Barry and Micky the dog! The grounds team. All credit to you, as this place is as delightful outside as it is in.
We came across a wonderful mix of animals from the Pheasants casually strutting across the lawn to the Roe deer in the late afternoon. The red squirrels darting about the trees and the Owls to welcome us back home of an evening.
If reading this makes you want to visit , do it and don't delay! This place is sheer heaven from start to finish.
I was sad to leave, but can't wait to return. I think Knockdow has stolen my heart.
I returned home feeling more relaxed than I can remember feeling in a very long time.
Thank you, to all the super friendly team for making our stay perfect in every way.

My only regrets.... I didn't visit sooner and I forgot to sign the visitors book!

Fatima and Stewart, thank you both so much for sharing your wonderful home with us, and to the rest of the Knockdow team, keep up the good work! You've got the mix just right!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing