We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“30th birthday”
other travellers have booked this property
Halton Lodge Upper
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Halton Lodge Upper
Hot Tub Spa on balcony with stunning views Relax on sunny days on your private deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Halton Lodge Upper
Hot Tub Spa on balcony with stunning views
Relax on sunny days on your private deck
Living room with balcony views, large LCD and Sky TV.
Comfortable cushioned lounges waiting for you to completely relax in.
Spacious dining and living area.
Dining and kitchen area.
Modern eequipped kitchen.
Luxury master bedroom with balcony views and TV.
Luxury master bedroom with balcony access and skylight windows.
Luxury new bthroom
Luxury new bathroom with bath and shower
Double bedroom
Two bunk beds sleeping up to four with television.
Unwind and admire the stunning views
Stunning deck views of the Clyde Estuary and beyond.
Your view over the Holy Loch drivin along the shore.
Winter views in spectacular Cowal Peninsula.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suzanneje...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“30th birthday”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Im just back from the lodge this weekend which we hired for a friends birthday. We hired upper/lower as there was a crowd.
Place was amazing clean towels on all the beds even had a bottle of chardonnay in each lodge.
The place is spacious and just of the main rd only 2 min drive from the ferry and walking distance to hunters quay holiday village if u wanted to go to the pub.
The place was great only downside was no freezers in any of the lodges and the bubbles on the hottub only worked on 1 side although that didn't stop us aying it even in the snow haha.
Was a pleasure and will def be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libbyharv...
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fab place, ideally situated.”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Accommodation was excellent. We had both the upper and lower lodge so we could all be together.
Easy to get to and pleasant to stay in.
Could do with more plugs near mirrors. Its impossible, in any of the rooms, to dry your hair looking in a mirror.
Be aware of the decking though. If it rains it gets dangerously slippy, one of our ladies had a bad fall. Although there is chicken wire running up the centre of the "walking" area there are quite a few holes and parts of the wire missing. This also applies to the outside stairs leading to the upper lodge. Could do with the wire being replaced and also a proper handrail.
We had a fab time and would certainly recommend this place. Hot tub was fab but could do with a gazeebo over the top so you can still enjoy it whatever the weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueZ2402M...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wold not come back, extremely poor customer service”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

I posted the following review after our stay in September 2016 and this is just an update.
Despite having lost a whole nights sleep - in fact having to endure a night of torture being woken every single hour to have to cancel the faulty burglar alarm we have never received even an apology!- certainly no offer of recompense for a ruined weekend. In view of the circumstances we should have been compensated for at least one night when we were unable to sleep at all.
I advise that the owners of this property are interested only in taking your money and running. Book at your own risk.
The following is my review from September

It is not often that I would take the time to write a review but on this occasion there are a number of things to say & a number of things that need attention, this is a very honest review.
The location of Hafton upper is great - it is easy to find , just off the main road (but yet very private) and not far from the ferry crossing point and has lovely views from the balcony. Being able to use all the facilities at the hunters quay holiday park is also a bonus.
The bathroom is newly fitted and modern and in excellent condition.
On arrival at 4pm the internal warning alarm for the burglar alarm sounded and we rang the office contact numbers and were told how to cancel it. We were also told that this may occasionally happen and just to cancel it. The alarm message said 'low battery/ service'. It was obvious that it was known to be problem and that the alarm was overdue being serviced.. We were not concerned as the occasional alarm sounding would not have bothered us. After going to the restaurant at hunters quay we returned to the lodge at 11pm . The alarm sounded when we entered the lodge again and we cancelled it again. HOWEVER after going to bed the alarm continued to sound EVERY SINGLE HOUR ALL NIGHT. Each time someone had to get up to cancel it. At 9am, after a night of (not just no sleep more like torture as every time we went back to sleep we were shortly woken again) we rang the office and were put in touch with the alarm company who instructed us how to switch off the alarm completely. We were away to celebrate a birthday weekend and our first night and the whole first day ruined as we had had no sleep and felt dreadful. I did email Iain at Argyle cottages who agreed this was enough to drive anyone mad and he helpfully said he would contact the owner. If I don't like something then I would just not return and never complain but on this occasion felt we really should have been compensated and refunded the price of at least the first night. After 2 weeks I had not heard back again and when I contacted Iain again he reassured me he would pursue this with the owner- 7 weeks later I have still not had a reply or response from the owner. Intruder alarms have service agreements and this one had clearly not been kept up to date and it was obviously known there was a problem with it.
However there are also several other things that need attention - the rest of the lodge is quite 'tired'.
The hot tub cover was broken and a sheet of clear plastic used instead ( we were told a new one had been ordered). The old hot tub cover (broken in pieces was dumped by the side of the hot tub & no attempt had been made to remove it) - all the broken pieces of polystyrene and little pieces of black plastic were blowing around. It was September and the leaves beginning to fall and the sheet of plastic was not effective at keeping the leaves and pieces of the broken cover out of the hot tub. The balcony itself is in need of a good clean.
In the 2 smaller bedrooms there are venetian blinds but they are fitted so close to the upvc window frames that you can't open the windows so if you like air in the bedroom this is not possible.
We were a party of 6 adults - there was one wine glass! . We bought our own cheaply from morrisons and left them for the next guests.
There is no ice box in the fridge and no freezer so no ability to make ice for a gin and tonic/ice to cool your bubbly, or if you want to buy ice creams/frozen deserts etc it is not possible. I have never stayed in a property where there is not at least an ice box.
The sofas (are very comy) but are covered in blankets which looked grubby.
The bedding is dated and though clean well used.
The table has a glass top which is also dated and has become very scratched so it doesn't look clean.
The property has 2 dustbins just outside the entrance - both of which were completely full when we arrived to the point of overflowing and we were unable to put our rubbish in them.
We did enjoy a fabulous weekend but because of excellent company, a great afternoon at the quad biking experience and an absolutely fabulous evening at LIVINGSTONES restaurant in Dunoon (do take a trip here the food was amazing , the atmosphere and the staff also) However Hafton lodge upper was disappointing and I would not return to this property.
If you are staying check with the owner that they have had the alarm serviced and I hope now replaced the hot tub cover!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwoo73
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home tranquility!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally situated within the cowal peninsula with the facilities of the holiday park on your door step. Home from home accommodation with great wi-fi, comfortable furniture and great views over the clyde. The hot tub was a bonus for the family which at night was amazing under the stars! This lodge is very easy to get to, great location to set out from and very quiet and private to stay in.
Full marks from me and thoroughly recommended!
I'll be back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
""Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We have passed your comments to the owners. We hope you book again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays."""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjkerr39
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anazing”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights didn't want to leave, the view is amazing location is great. Lodge was furnished really nice I will defo be going back
Only thing I would say a freezer or ice box would be good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing