We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Lodge”
other travellers have booked this property
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils. Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils.
Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers & wash hand basin.
Bedroom 2: With king-sized bed, wardrobe & chest of drawers.
Bedroom 3: Can be made into a twin, double or study. Wardrobe, chest of drawers, bunting optional!
The kitchen has an alcove dining area suitable for 6.
View from the kitchen.
Bathroom with bath, electric shower & super-soft hotel quality towels.
Covered and gated veranda to take in the surroundings
Big enough for 6, cosy enough for 2!
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the veranda - so long as there are some nuts out!
There is plenty of space to play.
Your pinic spot in front of the lodge.
The Holy Loch is just 5 minutes drive away
Boats on the Holy Loch
Argyll Forest surrounds you
View towards the lodge from Benmore Botanic Gardens
Ruskin Lodge is an idyllic escape
A nice spot to rest your head!
Fishing in Argyll - Picture Credit : Paul Tomkins / VisitScotland
Nature is everywhere!
Local seafood! Seafood platter by Ben Brown via Flickr
Glen Massan is just a 10 minute drive away.
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lodge”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful weekend spent with the family at Ruskin Lodge.

The lodge was immaculate, well equipped and very suitable for children and dogs. Situated in a beautiful location with great walks on your doorstep or to spend time relaxing on the decking area watching the red squirrels or if lucky as we were to see a deer wander close by.

I would highly recommend to anyone and thank you to the owner Abrigail for the easy booking and surprise basket on arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you for leaving such a kind review! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and got to experience the area's walks and wildlife - even though we are locals now, we still get a thrill from seeing the red squirrels. You are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicefrank...
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best cabin for your break”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This log cabin is fantastic, clean, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. The facilities are second to none and everything is there for your needs and comfort. The area is spotless and walks, hikes, trails and activities are on your doorstep.
The owners contact you to see if you require anything and can not do enough for you.
If you want a relaxing break in the country , then you won't get a better cabin than this one.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
What a lovely review, and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ruskin Lodge! We have put a lot of hard work into making the lodge a home-from-home and it is just wonderful to know that guests such as yourself appreciate it all. You were lovely to host and if we could give you a five star review, we would!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilarm1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect get-away-from-it-all location!”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Ruskin Lodge is a fabulous wooden gem at the foothills of some delightful walks. In a glorious location, this property strikes a balance between being near enough to amenities and feeling as though you're in the heart of the countryside. The property was immaculate on arrival, with Abigail having thought of everything. The cabin is wonderfully appointed, homely yet stylish, with generous-sized rooms. The living room is ideal for rest and relaxation and has beautiful big windows to look out at the idyllic surroundings and idly watch the birds and red squirrels. We wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend this accommodation and will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the combination of wildness and closeness to local facilities and I'm delighted you got to enjoy a bit of both! Until next time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From start to finish I cannot praise Abigail highly enough. She has put such thought into making the lodge comfortable with every little detail attended to. We enjoyed it so much we booked a return visit immediately. Already ticking off the days for our next visit. Thank you Abigail xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - you and your family were a delight to host and I'm so pleased you have booked to stay again soon. Until next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McIntosh9...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I went to the lodge during guy Fawkes night with my two dogs and I have to say it was brilliant , so relaxing the location is great for walking , the dogs loved it as much as I did . The Lodge was superb in every department it's a complete home from home it has everything you would need . The bedrooms are of a good size the living room is lovely and cozy , the lodge heats up pretty quickly and is super comfy , the beds are great I slept like a log , I can't recommend this lodge highly enough is a fabulous place as is the location , il defo be booking again and I hope it's soon , it's only a two hr drive from my home town but it feels a million miles away I had a great weekend. Met the owner Abigail who is a really nice friendly lady.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all
Liked least: The weather but that's out with anyone's control
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Delighted you and your dogs enjoyed your stay the lodge and got to explore the area - there are so many good walks to do. Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review - it means the world to us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing