We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious lodge in a magical location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils. Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils.
Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers & wash hand basin.
Bedroom 2: With king-sized bed, wardrobe & chest of drawers.
Bedroom 3: Can be made into a twin, double or study. Wardrobe, chest of drawers, bunting optional!
The kitchen has an alcove dining area suitable for 6.
View from the kitchen.
Bathroom with bath, electric shower & super-soft hotel quality towels.
Covered and gated veranda to take in the surroundings
Big enough for 6, cosy enough for 2!
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the veranda - so long as there are some nuts out!
There is plenty of space to play.
Your pinic spot in front of the lodge.
The Holy Loch is just 5 minutes drive away
Boats on the Holy Loch
Argyll Forest surrounds you
View towards the lodge from Benmore Botanic Gardens
Ruskin Lodge is an idyllic escape
A nice spot to rest your head!
Fishing in Argyll - Picture Credit : Paul Tomkins / VisitScotland
Nature is everywhere!
Local seafood! Seafood platter by Ben Brown via Flickr
Glen Massan is just a 10 minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
pocket_pu...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxurious lodge in a magical location.”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This beautiful lodge is perfectly located at only 5/10 minute drive from Dunoon and ferry but away from the main road and in a private quiet avenue along with a few other lodges.
We arrived to the best kept lodge we have ever booked. It really is perfect. The owner has put a lot of thought and care into thinking about her guests and this is reflected in all the reviews.
We found booking very easy and when I had to contact directly I found the owners very helpful and kind.
The number 1 visited attraction in this area (Pucks Glen) is barely a minute walk from the lodge and a longer walk can take you to Benmore Gardens (2 on TripAdvisor) both strongly recommended.
We saw squirrels and pipestrelle bats in the evening along with a huge variety of birds. Superb photography.
We didn't want to leave after a weeks holiday and I'm sure we'll be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and decor
Liked least: Bit boggy at the rear
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and liked the location so much - we are very lucky to have so many great attractions on our doorstep! Hope we'll get to host you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate D
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Warm, very clean and comfortable. All basics provided as well as a welcome pack which was much appreciated. Really well appointed, beds are excellent too, slept like logs! Bedding, towels and kitchen stuff all great quality, even hand wash was a really nice one! Lacked for nothing here. Site quiet and small, scenery wonderful and forest walks straight from lodge. A lovely home, we will return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! So glad you found the lodge well equipped and enjoyed the walks in the area. You are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenHil...
Blaydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Lodge from Heaven”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Nestled under the beautiful Puck's Glen this little slice of lovely was accommodating, well stocked, welcoming and a great base of operations for our families days out in the surrounding area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The handy wifi for researching places to go (if the included boxes of leaflets weren't enough)
Liked least: The fact we had to leave
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Delighted you all had a good time on your family holiday at the lodge. We like adding new leaflets and maps for guests - there is always so much to do in the area. Thank you for taking the time to review us, it really is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulle S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cabin in a stunning location”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed for a long weekend and had a great time at Ruskin Lodge. We really didn't want to leave again!

The cabin really has everything you need for a self catered break- the kitchen was very well equipped, there were board games and DVDs but most importantly- absolutely gorgeous walking trails that started right outside the property.
The interior of the lodge was spotlessly clean and easy to heat. Also there were electric blankets and plenty of hot water bottles so we were nice and cosy the whole time.

The lodge is about a ten minute walk from Benmore botanical gardens, with impressive views and little hidden fairytale-like paths.

The whole time we were there we didn't have to use our car once because there were plenty of hiking trails all around us- with waterfalls, forests and overwhelming mountain views.

We had an amazing time at Ruskin lodge and we will definitely come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you for leaving such a nice review! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to explore the area - you are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
684alanm7...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, luxurious lodge”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed at Ruskin Lodge in February and had a wonderful time. We were amazed at how spacious it was, with a very large lounge, a dining kitchen and big bedrooms. The wooden log-cabin interior makes it really cosy and romantic in the evenings, and it is set in a very quiet woodland setting with the start of a fantastic rocky glen and waterfall walk literally a couple of minutes away from the door (Puck's Glen - don't miss it - it's amazing!). Benmore gardens are close by too, which we went to a couple of times. We saw red squirrels both in the gardens and outside the cabin, and could hear an owl (or owls?) in the evening.

We have stayed in various lodges/log cabins across Scotland and Ruskin Lodge was undoubtedly the best. It was equipped with everything we needed and has a real feel of luxury. Despite the time of year we had reasonably good weather, and the cabin felt super-welcoming when we got home from our walks. Abigail has thoughtfully provided electric blankets which is a great idea, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy interior of the cabin
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review the lodge. It is lovely to hear such nice comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing