We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet small”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old School Lodge

A warm welcome to the Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome to the Lodge
Sit and relax in the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
A warm welcome to the Lodge
Sit and relax in the garden
Well equipped kitchen
To welcome you......x
Cosy and comfortable
Shower room
A birthday surprise
Book a surprise treat for someone special
We'll cater to your special occasion
Port of Dover
Eurostar
Brockhill Country Park
Coastal Park
Folkestone Harbour
Dover Castle
Etchinghill Golf Club
Canterbury Cathedral
Ashford Designer Outlet
Leas Cliff Hall entertainment venue in Folkestone
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Folkestone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
fisher196...
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Quiet small”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Easy to find. Well presented and set out. Parking was easy. Everything you could need. Everything in the kitchen you need except an egg flip which we found out whilst frying eggs but no biggy. Heater was on and some milk in the fridge which was great since it was very cold and wet. Nice coming into a warm room. Tesco is virtually around the corner which was very convenient. The lodge itself is very small with the bed against the wall so to get out of bed you had to climb over the other person. Bathroom was constantly wet and had that wet smell as there is no window for ventilation. If your going to use the washing machine leave the room as I think the bearings are gone and it sounds like a jumbo jet is warming up for take off when it spins.
Was a great stay despite those few things. Nice watching the squirrels run around. Would go back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michielle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't praise it enough!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How rare it is to find a little jewel like the 'Old School Lodge' where both the accommodation and the owners are so lovely. The lodge is small, but so well appointed that it seems a lot more spacious. It's extremely well decorated, spotlessly clean and the owner provides lovely little extras that make you feel even more welcome. The property it'self is secluded enough to be private but not so much that you feel isolated. Its a perfect base from which to explore the Kent coast, but alternatively If you just want to kick back and relax, either indoors or in the pretty garden, everything you need has been provided - they've literally thought of everything!
Thanks Jamie and Jane for a lovely stay!! We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation was well decorated and spotlessly ckean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo091...
1 review
“I wouldn't normally do this but.....”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I never write reviews, frankly I'm quite difficult to please!
The old school lodge was fantastic, I booked for two nights for my husbands birthday! Folkestone west station is tricky to get to from where we live which was annoying but I'll be driving for our next visit. The actual place was easy enough to find, taxi drivers got a little confused but we always got there! When we arrived I was thrilled, my husband hadn't seen it and he was happy too. It's small, but perfect for a couple who due to work and life in general don't get much time to spend together!
All plugs etc are clearly labelled so you know what you're using.
The bed is comfortable, there's wifi, TV, DVD.
I packed towels, food stuffs but there was already basics there!
Jane- the lady that dealt with us, was lovely, she was very polite and attentive.
There's a little folder with local numbers including a vets number which as a veterinary nurse I was very pleased about!! There was really nothing I can fault! We got a taxi into Folkestone on the second day (cost about £8) and that was lovely too!!
I cannot wait to go back early next year. The outside space is fantastic also, really beautiful. I've showed friends and family photos I've taken and they've all been very impressed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrey B
Sagy, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Has everything for two people to enjoy Folkestone”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This tiny cottage certainly does have everything you need for a self catering break/ holiday near Folkestone. Its not spacious by any means but we were very comfortable. However, there are two major problems that we encountered on both of our overnight stays in December. The first was the overwhelming smell of damp which no amount of air fresheners could disguise. The second problem was that on both occasions the bathroom was dirty. The bottom half of the shower was definitely in need of a good scrub with all ledges in the bathroom dusty - even behind the taps! I cleaned the toilet seat myself because there was some evidence of something down the loo when we arrived and I wasn't comfortable. If the bathroom was spotless and the smell was sorted out I would happily pay more because it has so much going for it, and then recommend it to a friend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariannet...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just beautiful and romantic”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We has a lovely stay at old school lodge . Everything was on your doorstep yet it felt like you was in the Middle of nowhere . Highly recommended we will definitely be going back . Thank you Jane and Jamie .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$85
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing