We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place with everything you need”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Nest

The Swallows Nest...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Swallows Nest...
The Swallows Nest... The Swallows Nest...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Swallows Nest...
The Swallows Nest...
The Swallows Nest...
Quality and quirky throughout.
Spacious kitchen with fab views.
Stunning views from the kitchen down the valley.
View from The Swallows Nest
What a clock!
Kitchen
Stairs up to the kitchen
Luxury master bedroom with bespoke oak bed.
Bedroom 2 with double bed
Single room with pitch pine bed.
Quirky lighting!
Family bathroom.
Family bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura M
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“A beautiful place with everything you need”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Swallows Nest is a beautiful cottage in the lovely Slaithwaite. The place has been done to a high standard with attention to detail but still feels lovely and homely.
I booked the cottage for my 30th birthday and travelled with my partner and friends, we all thought the place was lovely as did friends and family that popped up to the cottage. We felt looked after and had everything we needed and even the fire had been lit for us for our arrival, which made it feel so very cosy.
With a 10-15 minute walk down into Slaithwaite itself, with access to trains to the likes of Huddersfield, Leeds, York or Manchester it really is a lovely place to stop and travel from. The walk back up to the cottage is all up hill but manageable and the views are worth it.
I will definitely be booked again when we next visit from the Netherlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Glad everything was perfect for your birthday and hope to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreena S
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST WEEKEND AWAY!”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

At arrival we were greeted by Kath who was extremely friendly and just left us to see the property in our own space and time which we preferred; we were made feel comfortable straight away. The car park was spacious and we parked our cars on the property for secure parking. The cottage was spotless....smelt amazing and thoroughly clean! We were not disturbed by anyone which meant I was stress free. We literally just got on with it and had a fantastic weekend! I am already booking another weekend soon! Sally was very friendly and we met her at check-out. I left the property clean as a show of my respect to the home and left it just as clean as it was when we walked in. I highly recommend this place! Cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cottage
Liked least: finding the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossKerr
1 review
“Perfect - highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here for three days over New Year and Swallows Nest was the perfect way to spend our break.

The cottage is immaculate and is finished to an exceptionally high standard. The combination of character features like the wooden beams and the modern furnishings works really well. Every need seemed to be catered for which made our stay even more enjoyable. Many hours were spent in front of the log burner and the bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable!

There was a nice welcome pack waiting for us or arrival which included milk, bread, orange juice, butter, marmalade and chocolates which was a lovely touch.

The owner, Sally, was a pleasure to deal with and we would definitely visit this cottage again.

I would highly recommend a stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Thank you for your great review and pleased you had a nice relaxing break. Look forward to welcoming you in the future, maybe when the weather is a little better!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect cosy cottage!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My fiancé and I spent some time looking for a cottage to spend my 30th birthday at with our young family (two boys, aged 7 years and 20 weeks old). I wanted somewhere clean and country-contemporary to spend time with my family for a weekend, with countryside views, an open fire/log burner, a well equipped kitchen, deep bath and big comfy bed! The Swallows Nest ticked all the boxes!

Booking was easy and the owner, Sally, was really personable and friendly and we were even able to check in a little earlier as the cottage was free all day.

The location is in a small village, Slaithwaite and on a working farm. First impressions confirmed we had made the right choice. The property is set over four floors and is entered via the main entrance from a small gated courtyard (to park up to two cars on), into the kitchen.

In the kitchen we found a welcome pack of milk, fresh orange juice, marmalade, butter and fresh bread. There was also a plentiful supply of tea, coffee, sugar and some herbal teas too (fruit and peppermint). We brought all the ingredients with us for my fiancé to cook me a birthday meal the following day, but there was also some spices, cooking oils and condiments in the kitchen too. All cleaning products, tin foil etc were provided and my fiancé was glad to even find some sellotape for wrapping up some last minute gifts! Our youngest is not at the weaning stage yet, but it was nice to see that there were even baby spoons provided in the kitchen and plastic kids tumblers too. The kitchen was very well equipped, all good appliances and utensils which made life a lot easier - lots of thought seems to have been put in; "what essentials would I have/want/need in my own kitchen?" There's also an iPod dock and breakfast bar in the kitchen, but we ate upstairs in the lounge at the dining table.

Up a few steps is the top floor, the lounge. It is immaculate and tastefully decorated. Lots of comfy spaces to sit, a tv and a cosy log burner. We were provided with a big basket of logs, but despite it being uncharacteristically mild weather for October, we decided to set the logs burning anyway and also purchased a further bag! There's also a dining table which seats up to 6 and doors which lead out onto the enclosed garden (there was also a BBQ out there for use and a table and chairs).

Down from the kitchen we found the master bedroom with the comfiest large oak bed. Again, it is beautifully decorated. There was also a travel cot for our youngest to sleep in and an additional mattress had been purchased for it to make it more comfortable. Another big tick for thoughtfulness. There was also a tv in the bedroom, though we never used it and a hairdryer too. On the same level is another small double bedroom which looked cosy and comfortable, but this was not used as our eldest son decided to sleep in the single room on the lowest level.

The single room on the lowest level was also comfortable and nicely decorated. Our eldest son particularly liked the quirky lamp in there! Next to that room is a gorgeous bathroom with a powerful rainforest shower and a deep bath. We had brought our own toiletries but there was nice shower gel and bath soak provided and plenty of The White Company fluffy towels too.

There was also a utility room on the lowest level with a further WC, washing machine and dryer in there along with a storage cupboard next to it housing an iron and ironing board, vacuum cleaner, mop etc.

The entire property was immaculate. It was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Lots of thought has gone into the design, decor and furnishings. Sensor lights which come on when entering the hall spaces and on the stairs were really handy - especially when you're up in the night in unfamiliar surroundings. I liked how shelves had been placed at the side of the stairs making good use of space and particularly liked that some board games and books (including kids books too) had been provided. It's really nice to go somewhere and feel that your children are welcome too. When searching for a place to stay, we found that a lot of places of this spec' and design seem to operate a 'no-children' policy, but it was nice here to know they were just as welcome as adult guests as not everyone wants to compromise on going somewhere stylish just because they have children!

We really enjoyed our stay here celebrating my birthday and we will definitely be returning at some point. We cannot recommend this place enough. It is a perfect hideaway and home from home and the owner is really friendly too. Can't wait for our next stay! Thanks again Sally!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Wow!!! What a fantastic review you gave us. I'm so pleased we met all your requirements and had a wonderful birthday. Look forward to welcoming you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Jong F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best and most comfortable cottage in Yorkshire!!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Swallows Nest is a true treasure! The facilities, comfort and very tasteful architectual design (contemporary countryside style) of this holiday cottage made our stay very pleasant. We were staying with two young children, they loved the farm animals next door. It is situated on the hill side overlooking the village valley, beautiful views!! village is on walkable distance and has a biological grocery and bakery.
Thanks a lot Sally!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall comfort
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
So nice to hear your comments and glad the children had a great time too! Hope to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing