We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW”
other travellers have booked this property
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Enclosed courtyard Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Enclosed courtyard
Dining
Open Plan living
Relaxing
Living space with parquet floor
Clever use of space
Modern Kitchen
Traditional beds
Quiet area
Good sized corner shower
Light and airy shower/WC room
Private sitting area
Mature garden
Greenhead Park only a few minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lyn M
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in August 2014

What a wonderful hideaway for travellers central location, beautifully fitted out, lovely owners, my son and I were made to feel very welcome on arrival and our daughter who lived locally was very impressed also when she visited me during our stay on further trips back to the UK this will certainly be somewhere we will look to stay, apologies for the late review I thought I had already left one. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location
Liked least: Lack of washing machine
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misterne
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I was looking for somewhere to stay for a couple of nights with my husband and 4 month old baby whilst attending a family wedding and originally booked Holt Bank as an alternative to a hotel room because I needed somewhere with a kitchen to be able to sterilise and prepare bottles. With its one bedroom and reasonable price, Holt Bank fit the bill perfectly. I emailed the owners because I wanted to check there would be room in the bedroom for a travel cot and received a reply almost straight away.

As the weekend we had booked got closer, I emailed the owners again to ask about how we picked up the keys and, again, received a very prompt reply with great directions and a phone number in case we got lost. When we arrived at Holt Bank we were warmly greeted by the owners and given a tour. The pictures just don't do it justice! Holt Bank is a lovingly restored/converted coach house that offers plenty of space for a couple and a baby with a fantastic kitchen that has all the appliances you could ever need for a short break (although there is a cafe in the park nearby so for those that don't want to cook, you can get a great breakfast for very little money). There is a TV and stereo downstairs and the high speed wi-fi was an added bonus. Upstairs there is a good sized bedroom with two single beds that are very comfortable, as well as a lovely little en-suite.

We were reassured that the owners were nearby if we had any questions or problems, but at no point did we feel overlooked.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Holt Bank and would book again if we are ever in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 'cuteness' of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it would be a pleasure to have you visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missyj122...
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Holt Bank for eight days while on holiday from the US and we couldn't have been more pleased!!! Ann and John were fantastic! They welcomed us upon arrival and showed us around the cottage. It was extremely clean and tidy, and was so warm and inviting. This was our first time in the UK and we found our stay at Holt Bank to be absolutely wonderful! We relied on public transportation, and Holt Bank was an easy walk to the train and bus stations, which are located right in the heart of the city centre. The cottage had strong wifi, which was perfect for keeping in touch with friends and family back home, and we loved watching Sky tv after a long day of exploring. What more can I say? Our stay at Holt Bank was PERFECT!!! We will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay, it was great to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvania4...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely be returning soon.”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our second visit here and certainly will be revisiting. Warm, comfortable and a lovely welcome from Ann and John. A perfect base for visiting family. Beautiful park on the doorstep, shops a short walk away, Huddersfield town centre an easy walk, easy access to motorway. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
So glad you enjoyed your return stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the New Year. Merry Christmas to you and the family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill w
1 review
“Great accommodation, good location, just the job”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Holt Bank is a credit to its owners.

Ann and John met us on arrival, gave us a quick tour and then left us to it. The accommodation was obviously only recently renovated and provides very clean, comfortable and quality accommodation at a bargain price. Wifi with quick internet access was a bonus as was Virgin Media TV. Well located for Huddersfield town centre, the countryside and with good access to the M62, I would not hesitate to book again when next in town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, modern, comfortable
Liked least: nothing - good, as advertised accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Thanks for your positive comments, look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;