We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely location especially if you explore the tracks further out

I visit Snelmore Common often. It is an oasis of heathland with an accessible walk for... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Laura H
,
Wantage, United Kingdom
Great walks

Easy parking and pleasant walks. Lots of wildlife all year. Bikes are permitted and so are dogs... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
Eric G
Read all 94 reviews
  
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
55
30
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
30
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family walk toilet block wild ponies picnic area donnington castle dog walkers beautiful woodland circular route enjoy nature play football great place to walk family picnic lovely location lots of space car park paths walks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Easy parking and pleasant walks. Lots of wildlife all year. Bikes are permitted and so are dogs. There are picnic tables in various places.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

This is a lovely day out. Well-behaved dogs are allowed off the lead. We found it by accident and have gone several times since. Even on a rainy day it's fun. Picnic areas, amply parking and those lovely ponies. Good place.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Snelsmore Common has plenty of parking, there are toilets near the entrance.

The common has lots of tracks that are great to explore, but for the people that are not quite as adventurous or are in a wheelchair, then there is a main circular route that will also give picturesque views across the common.

This is an ideal place for kids, dog walkers, and for cycling around.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank GrahamUK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

great place to meet with friends and family its very peaceful with lots of space and be in the shade on a hot day, the park was quiet on the day we visited we had a picnic and played some games, we chose not to go for a walk in the woods but have in the past, the reason i have only given 4 stars is due to the owners of dogs who feel its great to have their dog off the lead and let it run all over the place with no control or even bothered at what their dog is doing.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank rachelle489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely location for an after work BBQ and walk in the extensive forested area.

Went here with our work colleagues and really enjoyed our second work BBQ this year!

Have also visited to walk our dog earlier in the year. Always clean and tidy.

Be aware that parking inside the main gate is not allowed after 8:00pm, so ensure your car is in the area just off the main road (next to toilets) before that time.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MartinMiles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews