We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location & very peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of crockham lodge

The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Driveway in winter spring time
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The cottage overlooks the west facing courtyard garden
Driveway in winter
spring time
spring time
Double room en-suite
Double room shower
Double room en-suite
Double room
Double room bed
Twin room shower
Twin room toilet
Twin room hand basin
Twin room
Twin room
Sitting area with kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newbury, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
SteveandJ...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location & very peaceful”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very homely, in a beautiful & peaceful location. A short distance from town for provisions. Has everything you would need for a comfortable & relaxing stay. Very helpful and friendly owner. Would definitely return for a future stay and thoroughly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked this accommodation for a colleague at short notice-extremely helpful!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this accommodation at very short notice for a colleague. We originally booked 2 weeks but had to extend the stay, again at short notice! Paul was extremely helpful in every way and could not have done more for us! Brilliant price and good location, out in the countryside but still close to the local shops etc! My colleague was very happy at Crockham lodge, I visited a few times and it was lovely, very homely! We will definitely be keeping hold of Paul's details for future stays! Brilliant!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swerr
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful stay in an excellent place”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Crockham lodge for 5 nights. This is a really lovely place, away from the hustle and bustle. Perfectly equipped, with everything you need. Paul was very hospitable and friendly. I can recommend this place to stay with family.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFatBud...
Port Talbot
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Breath of Fresh Air”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can be picky about places the Spouse & I have stayed at. I have been astonished that people give 5 stars to accommodation, that at best, scrapes 3.
However, Crockham Lodge is truly lovely. Situated in the country, you will need a car. The peace and tranquility is second to none.
Crockham Lodge ticks all the right boxes. It is affordable, clean, comfortable, with two ensuiite rooms, good facilties and a helpful Owner.
We were also pleased the canine members of our family were allowed to stay too.
So all in all, a big thumbs up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobP57
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent quiet cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We used the cottage for a long weekend fot a family wedding in Ansover. Whilst it is not particularly easy to find it was well worth the search - An oasis of peace in our noisy world, Deer in a nearby paddock looking at us with interest as we took the dog for a morning stroll. It is very comfortable and is well set up, One of things that impressed us was the generosity of the owners with little touches that set it apart, Leaving milk in the fridge so you could get a drink after a long drive, Toiletries in the bathroom - just the little touches, a few flowers in a vase.. I know individually that may not sound much but they made us feel welcomed guests not just !Clients" which is our experience elsewhere.
If you are looking for a cottage this one is great and I recommend it without reservation

Bob Percey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Best sleep I've had for ages
Liked least: What is not to like!!!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing