We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little haven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Croft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavieboyS...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A little haven”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Came here with family and friends and had great time, plenty of "own space" but great for all being together too. All the rooms were used, and they were clean comfortable and warm. The aga was great for keeping the water hot, central heating and cooking on, we loved it. Short drive north took us into the lovely seaside town of Whitby, South into Scarborough was nearer and we parked on the north bay and made a day of it. We will definitely be doing it again, and although the croft was a little dated we found this part of the appeal. Modernising it could possibly spoil it. We would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2014
It's good that this party, coming from Scotland, found The Croft to their liking. In particular, their appreciation of the character of an older property is to be commended.
They will be welcome to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being together with family and friends
Liked least: when we arrived house was cold and heating system struggled to keep temperature up to required level, it was frosty outside.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
It's good that this party enjoyed their stay at The Croft. As they say, the area is great for getting out and about. I hope they will come again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara72...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday at the Croft”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at the Croft for a week in April, while attending my sister’s wedding. We chose the house for its’ ideal location and because it could accommodate our party of five adults and three children. The Croft was large, roomy and comfortable and set in lovely grounds in a nice quiet setting. It is true that with some updating, it could be an a exceptional house, but that would put it out of our price range. We found it charming, and homely, as did any of the wedding guests who popped in for a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Welcoming and homely
Liked least: A little dated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
This review shows that the party was happy with the value-for-money accommodation offered by The Croft. I hope they will consider booking again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
It is gratifying that The Croft provided this group with the accommodation they required.
Clearly they read the property details before booking, and were not disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pete114
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This 5 bedroomed property was booked for a family long-weekend 11 - 14 Oct 13. The week prior to this weekend was cold with strong easterly winds. On arrival at The Croft the house was cold, damp and smelled very musty, the heating was not switched on; it took over 2 hours to warm the majority of the house up. I had to bleed the radiators in the bedrooms to get them to function. The fifth bedroom was not usable as it has no radiator, so in effect it was only a 4 bedroom property which required us to amend our sleeping arrangements.

On inspection of the property it was found to be dirty and in need of a good clean. The decor was scrappy and the property is certainly in need of refurbishment and modernisation. There were cobwebs in most room corners and the conservatory had water on the floor, as well as an old unplugged fridge freezer. There were old bars of soap, some with hairs attached, in a drawer in the bathroom, not very pleasant! The plate drainer had mouldy food remains stuck in it and the cutlery basket for the dishwasher was broken and unusable. Some of the crockery was chipped and several of the pots and pans greasy. We had to put a selection of crockery and cutlery in the dishwasher before we could use them.

Several of the curtains would not close properly and were hanging off the rails, the bathroom curtain did not fit the window and offered no privacy whatsoever. Some of the bed linen was stained and smelled musty.

In both the sitting room and lounge there were electrical appliances with frayed and damaged wiring, there were electrical plugs with some of the wires not connected - not ideal with 2 young children in our party! In the kitchen was a walk-in pantry which went under the stairs, it contained many pots of paint and several bottles of solvents. The cupboard could not be secured and apart from being a hazard to the young children was a definite fire risk! The CO detector in the kitchen, next to the AGA, was over 12 months out of date.

Overall, the property was dirty, tatty, damp, unhygienic and unsafe; it did not mirror the description on your website and was certainly not worth the money we paid. With only 4 usable bedrooms it was not what we were expecting. I do not understand where the 3 star rating came from, giving it 1 star would have been generous! This property certainly warrants a visit from Environmental Health and after talking with Trading Standards, they consider that we are entitled to a refund under the Supply of Goods and Services Act.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property.
Liked least: Cleanliness and preparation.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
This person's views are contrary to most. The Visitors' Book is full of very complementary comments :"Lovely house and gardens. Clean and well-equipped"; "A lovely big house in an ideal location"; "House loved by us all"; "What a gem, wonderful house with everything you need"; "House very comfortable". These are just a few.
This visitor seems to have gone out of his way to find relatively minor things to criticise.
The heating was timed to come on at 4 p.m.. It was relatively mild.
The house is cleaned between lets.Cobwebs are dealt with, but can develop overnight.
The fridge-freezer in the conservatory is a back-up to the one in the kitchen, and is not old.
There is a net curtain in the bathroom. All curtains close.
Bed linen provided is fine.
Electrical wiring is safe. An electrician recently viewed the house.
A new gas safety certificate was issued in July, valid for one year.
Environmental Health visited the house recently. They agree that some of the claims made by this party are "ridiculous".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing