We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Headlands Hotel review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Headlands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The Headlands Hotel Scarborough . First time of staying here 12 August till 16 August David and Jill are very lovely people , We saw more of David and has a good sence of humour which we like . Jill busy looking after different things in the hotel . First impression in walking in to hotel was very good . The hotel is spotless ,the bedrooms we had ( premire one )was beautiful , the bathroom to die for , the breakfast a very good choice and caters for everyone . It's close to the sea and we go to the Tunny Catch for evening meals which is 5 mins walk so no using the car . Now the reason i have only given them 4 star is they didn't get something quite right while we were their ( won't embarass them to say what ) so it hasn't put us off we have book up twice for next year so i am sure they will get it right in 2018 . Regards Sheila from Tamworth

Room Tip: We had a premire room good view , very sunny and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank _sheilathorneycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you most sincerely for your excellent review, we really are most grateful. We would also like to thank you for bringing up your one issue with us face to face. I wish everyone would do the same. The only thing I would say is had you mentioned it during your stay instead of when you left we could have sorted it earlier. It doesn't embarass us but gives us a chance to look into whatever the issue is and hopefully sort it out for the future. Anyway so pleased that you have booked again for next year and we look forward to seeing you and Pete again because we really enjoyed your company.
Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

What a lovely week we have just spent in this friendly Hotel. The rooms are bright and modern and extremely clean. The facilities were just perfect for us and the breakfast was superb. The Hotel staff looked after our every need, and we were greeted with warm smiles every morning. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. We will be staying again that is for sure. Cannot fault at all. Perfect just perfect
Jackie and John Edinburgh

Room Tip: All rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Many thanks Jackie and John for your lovely review and for all the lovely comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure chatting to you both every day and we would be delighted to see you both back here again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Brilliant place, good location very quite and peaceful. Nice modern bedrooms and bathrooms. Booked a large bed which was great and there was still plenty of room to get around. Breakfast was very good but i was a bit disappointed with the croissants i thought they would be buttery and flaky but they were rather doughy not as good value as the cooked breakfast. The owners and the staff were very helpful. The only very slight thing that let it down was the housekeeping no towels on arrival but that was very quickly remedied and the bottled water was not replenished on the 2nd day. but other than that would go back again and most definitely recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: we were in a front room with a sea view but was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 383PatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for your excellent review and for taking the time to post it, we really are very grateful. It is very gratifying that you feel able to recommend us to others and for that we thank you. Hopefully it won't be too long before we will be able to welcome you back here again.
Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in a family room with four of us.The rooms are spacious and very clean.Bathroom was spotless.Breakfast is served downstairswith a good mix of foods available.The owners Dave and Gill are very attentive and accommodating, we needed to book out 1 hour later, no problem.
The location for the open air theatre and Alpamare is great.
All in, a very pleasant stay in Lovely accommodation, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you so very much for your super review, for all the lovely comments and for taking the time to post it, we really are most grateful. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very gratifying to see that you would highly recommend us. Hopefully it won't be too long before we can welcome you all back here again.
Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Great place and great location. Just a few minutes walk to peasholme park and the beach. Lovely people and fantastic breakfast. Room was great for a family of 5 with an option of a pull out bed for an extra (smaller) child. A little pricey but I understand this is due to location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kate7552017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt able to leave such a nice review, we really appreciate it. As for the price can I just say it isn't particularly about location but if you fancied coming to visit us again and we certainly hope you would can I suggest you book directly with us because we can always make it cheaper than booking with the OTAs.
Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
2.0 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4 927 reviews
3.2 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
1.2 km away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Address: 16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: R1 326 - R2 383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Headlands Hotel in Scarborough, we are a 4star self classified detached family run Guest House ideally located on Scarborough's favoured North bay. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, North Cliff Golf Club, Indoor Bowls Centre, Scarborough cricket ground and The New Open Air Theatre. All our bedrooms, some of which come with stunning sea and castle views,are en-suite, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. All are equipped with Flatscreen TVs with Freeview, Tea & coffee making facilities, Radio/Alarm clocks, Hairdryer and a range of courtesy toiletries. We also have a spacious yet cosy Lounge with a well stocked Bar ideal for unwinding with a drink after a hectic and fun packed day. There is free WiFi internet access. We have a small private car park but there is also plentiful free parking right outside the Guest House. We are an ideal base for exploring all that Scarborough and the surrounding area has to offer like Whitby to the north, Filey & Bridlington to the south and of course York to the west. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and informal atmosphere which is why so many people choose to come and see us year after year. So if you are heading for Scarborough head for The Headlands !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing