We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
184
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalcup of teafresh fruitamazing hostslovely couplecar parking at the rearowners garycute dogtop quality ingredientsscenic routeblueberriesa fairly busy roadbanks of the riversurrounding placesnicest places we have stayedwarm welcomehome made cakes
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

A superbly run B&B in a very good location. Our hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast very good. Off street parking and a lovely riverside garden is also available to guests.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Lynstead House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello Keith
........how are you? well we hope! So glad you both enjoyed your stay and that you had a good time in Sidmouth.
Currently the river is more of a trickle as we hav'nt had any significant rain for about a month, much like the rest of the country I guess. But you can still hear the water and sit down the garden in the shade, which is very nice at the present.
It was great to meet you both, and both Linda and I would love to see you if your ever down our way again. Also,of course, much thanks for your review, it's very kind of you to write one for us, we really do appreciate it.
Our very best wishes to you both Gary & Linda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Having just eaten a large carvery we were rather daunted by the huge piece of home made cake set before us on arrival! We needn't have been - it was so lovely we ate every crumb!
Our room was lovely & large with a very big, comfortable bed & a separate lounge with TV & sofa! It was all wonderfully clean with a superb ensuite ( they even fitted a new double glazed window in our lounge room while we were out one day!) Breakfast was perfect & Linda & Gary were like friends straight away. We & other family members will be back ( just remember Gary, to give me the web site for the gate you fitted !!!! )

Stayed: June 2018
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Lynstead House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks John for taking the time to do such a great review for us. It was a pleasure having you & Margaret staying with us for the week.
Glad you liked the refurbished king size suite. We shall really look forward to seeing you back again with the rest of the family. You will be pleased to know that the gate is still on & seems to be working well. Best wishes to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We stayed for 3 nights at this lovely B & B. We were greeted with a cup of tea and cake - always welcome after a journey. The B & B is about 10 minutes flat walk from the front through 'The Byres', a lovely park area behind the B & B. There is parking at the rear, which is rare in Sidmouth. Our room was at the front on the 2nd floor. It had everything we needed, was spotlessly clean, and had an good shower and en-suite. The breakfasts were excellent - perfect scrambled egg! Linda and Gary are great hosts, helpful and informative without being intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days and hope to be back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gilld364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Lynstead House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Many thanks Gill for your complimentary review. We really enjoyed meeting you & Steve and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully it won't be long before you can return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

After arriving around 2.30 and a 4 hour drive from Hertfordshire we was greeted by Gary in the private parking at the rear of the guest house. He showed us to our first floor room for the week, which was an absolute delight. Then we were treated to a lovely Devonshire cream tea by Linda. You could not have wished for a more genuine down to earth welcoming couple. They treated everyone with the same friendly manner. For a good full english breakfast this is the place for you, as well as all the fruit, cereals and lighter options available. The Guest House is ideally situated for the town and bus routes only minutes away, and a lovely park situated on the river at the rear. Perfect house, perfect hosts, perfect. Alan and Jan, Herts

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jcroshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Lynstead House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks both for doing a great review for us. So glad you enjoyed your weeks holiday at Lynstead. You certainly made excellent use of our brilliant local bus service to discover new places to visit. We have missed your friendly banter in the mornings.Really hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

From the moment we turned up we felt very welcome, Linda and Gary are so friendly, Lynstead House is just beautiful, the location couldn't be better just a short walk from town and the beach and close to a beautiful park behind. Rooms were perfect and Breakfast was so good and set us up for the day. I totally recommend staying here, Cant wait to visit again and stay at Lynstead house. Thanks Gary and Linda for a lovely weekend and your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevee382015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Lynstead House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Steve, Sam and Bella
Hope you are all ok and feeling better for your break with us. Many thanks to you for writing your review. We really appreciate people like yourselves taking the time out of your busy day to do it.. We are very happy that you all enjoyed your stay here and that you liked Sidmouth and the surrounding area, plus of course Steve, thanks for boosting the local economy because judging by the bags stuffed into the boot of your car it's probably kept the local traders going for the next 6 months.
Anyway we do hope you can return one of the days, just give us a call.
In the meantime thanks again to you all and take care.
Linda & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews