We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for visiting Donkey Sanctuary”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden party!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
garden party!
The neighbours
Jurassic coast
Local pub
Views from Stoneleigh
Neighbours
Well behaved dogs welcome!
Views from Stoneleigh
Views from Stoneleigh
Stoneleigh grounds
Sidmouth beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture68...
1 review
“Perfect for visiting Donkey Sanctuary”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage was clean , with everything you need to self cater, including milk in the fridge, tea , coffee and sugar and a loaf of bread.. excellent.
Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to family and friends.
Debbie, the owner quick to respond to messages and very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thanks Debbie for your lovely words. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanJangle...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very convenient, well equipped, value for money”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just the two of us spent a couple of nights here. The cottage was in a great location for us being so close to the Donkey Sanctuary and main road allocated parking was great. Cottage is comfortable and well equipped. We arrived when the weather was cold so glad we were well prepared with a stock of one pound coins for the electricity meter. Once the place was warmed up, it was fine. Value for money, this cottage meet our needs for a short break, walking distance to the sanctuary for coffee, breakfast, a meal if required and of course to visit the donkeys. Easy access main roads and lovely walks direct from the cottage.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thanks for your kind words. I hope we can welcome you again. Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
2 reviews
“After initial setback, our stay was exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Unfortunately, when we arrived, the cleaners had not carried out their duties, so the cottage was not ready for new guests. This is the reason for the 3 rating.
We contacted the owner and the situation was "fixed" to our satisfaction very quickly. We then really enjoyed our stay there. We wanted to visit the Donkey Sanctuary and being able to walk there from our accommodation was great for us. We would definitely stay there again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
I am pleased that despite the initial issues, you were able to enjoy your stay. Again I can only apologise and we have taken steps to ensure this doesn't happen again. Hopefully we can welcome you back another time. Regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Donkey Neighbours”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a lovely well maintained clean holiday chalet/cottage with all required amenities .We came to visit our adopted donkey and the sanctuary is minutes away. It was ideal for us for a short break. There are lovely walks from the cottage around the Donkey Sanctuary and we can recommend the food in their restaurant.

Unfortunately it has to be said our rating is for the accommodation only. It would be much less if the holiday park was to be considered .I acknowledge that our visit was off peak and admittedly the weather was not good but the whole site appeared run down and poorly maintained amongst other things the (very) overflowing bins next to the cottage remained that way throughout our stay.

We would recommend this holiday rental if you like donkeys,and possibly if it is in the holiday season

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thank you Susan for taking the time to write a review. All comments are appreciated! I am pleased you enjoyed the cottage. We do aim to make it as comfortable as possible. I am sorry you felt the grounds were lacking. There have been works on the facilities over the winter, which may explain bins but I will pass comments to the caretakers for their review, and hopefully action. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evertonia...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

First thing you notice is the quiet.And lots of it! The cottage itself was clean and had home touches to it.You get your own allocated parking space,always good.The lounge was hard to heat but we weren't there to sit about watching tv.Comfy beds,shower had low pressure but did the job,hairdryer in the draw and the kitchen had everything you could need.I think I put £6 in the meter over the course of the weekend but it was a cold one.I'd recommend this site to anyone looking for a break from hustle and bustle

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make it as homely as we can. Our price does reflect the need to pay into the electricity meter. I hope we can welcome you again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing