We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 247)
Filter reviews
1 247 results
Traveller rating
951
222
61
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
951
222
61
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white room jubilee restaurant jacket and tie first class dress code brend family sea view outdoor pool brend hotels dining room putting green wonderful hotel top class high standard staff were attentive excellent food traditional hotel
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1 247 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Hi thought we would try here for afternoon tea the staff were friendly at reception there was 1 man that was not very abrupt we went in asked if there was a table available he said no i could see one we had a wheelchair we went over and sat near the fire this hotel is lovely that young man should learn some respect for older people i dont like complaining as this hotel is one of our favourites i have never stayed here for a night we live in bristol

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Old fashioned hotel with friendly attentive staff. Clientele is elderly. Cooking is good hotel - roast beef, lamb, turkey etc. in traditional way. Plenty of it which seems to be the Brend way.Very good full English in the morning.
outdoor pool looks good for the summer but indoor one rather small and no steam room.
Rooms very clean and fresh with comfortable beds and bath. Really most things you would expect in a four star hotel. Bring a jacket & tie as it gives you choice of where to have dinner.
Sidmouth has many good walks accessible by car and a nice coast line close to towns & villages worth visiting.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GourmetThurlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

This beautifully situated and maintained hotel never ceases to please. Public rooms are of a very high standard and combine elegance and dignity to perfection. There is a dress code at dinner in the larger of the two restaurants which makes every meal an occasion.

Bedrooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Staff very good; a special mention for Paco in the dining room.

Room tip: ask about a seaview if you want one. It is a big hotel, some guests mike like a room closer to the lift.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank everthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I first went to the Victoria Hotel in 1947 for a two week stay with my family. I was only 4 years old at that time. My wife and I, have visited for meals several times over the last 20 years. It has always been satisfactory.
Unfortunately I have to state that on the last visit for lunch on the 18th of October this year.the amount and standard of the meal made the experience very disappointing.
We had a table in the front lounge dining area, overlooking the sea. It is very comfortable and has a beautiful view. The Waitress was friendly professional and very helpful. I had the moules mariniere and french fries as a main course. Bread which was not very fresh was an extra charge. The number of moules was minimal for a starter, let alone a main course dish, and some what over steamed. Very overpriced . Pointed the fact of amount out, but no action taken. We were planning to have a stay at the hotel soon, but will not be doing so.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank DerekRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Standard of cuisine has been well maintained since our last visit (2013). Staff remain attentive, polite and friendly without any degree of over familiarity. Bed was very comfortable. Towelling dressing gowns seemed rather thin and worn. Wi fi access protocol rather impenetrable - but got there in the end. Curious (very limited) selection of SKY channels - sport only.

Room tip: Room lighting would benefit from greater flexibility - rather all (floodlit!!) or 'nothing' (feeble bedside lamps).
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Explorer52287159198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews