We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
12
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Just back from a family weekend away. Rented three lodges and we were made really welcome. The lodges were cosy and clean with comfy beds. The lodges have been refurbished and they are very smart. We were able to access the WFI easily too. Lots of great walks for the dog we had with us. My Mum and Dad have been visiting Ballater since the 1960s and my Dad requested this trip together. He really enjoyed it. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Excellent Lodges - clean, comfortable and contemporary with everything we needed – including hairdryer, microwave and dishwasher! Well heated and plenty of hot water... great for a February in Scotland. The extra touches such as milk in the fridge on our arrival really were appreciated. Good wi-fi too... they really have thought of everything. Friendly and helpful hosts made it a pleasure to stay.

Lovely surrounding area and some excellent walks right on the doorstep – details can be found in the welcome book in the lodge, as can details of the restaurants and takeaways around town, the centre of which is a 5 minute walk away. All the locals we met around town were friendly and welcoming and all the bars were fine – we checked them all to ensure a balanced view!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trippy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

These lodges are situated in Ballater, a few minutes walk to shops/pubs/eateries. Great walks start on the doorstep which is great seeing as some of the lodges are dog friendly.
They have everything you need and Gordon and Jennifer the owners are on site offering any further help you may need.
Spotlessly clean, dishwasher, hairdryer, free wifi, HD tv's, all cleaning stuff and towels provided, you really just need your clothes and toiletries. Little welcome pack too, milk, tea, coffee etc, enough to get you started.
The lodges are in process of renovation with 1 being refurbished at a time.
Stayed for Hogmanay, all the lodges were decorated with outside lights and a Christmas tree inside each lodge too.

It is without doubt the service and welcome given by Gordon that makes them so special, alongside perfect location, we will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bettyfithey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We returned to Invercauld Lodges having stayed there eight years ago! Under new management and as cosy as I remember, with several modern improvements like the leather sofa bed in the living room and a brand new shower room. Our large lodge, 'the Craigendarroch', was named after the hill overlooking the town. It slept seven of us comfortably (with a z-bed for a toddler) though the bedrooms are quite small. The kitchen was a bit basic, has not yet been modernised. There are six lodges, three are smaller than ours. There's a laundry room available too.
The new owner, Gordon, is very cheerful and helpful. Everything is provided down to towels and tin openers and if anything is missing, just ask. The grounds are very well cared for and as it was Halloween a lot of trouble was taken, with bats hanging from the trees and ghostly figures around. Gordon is in the process of modernising all the lodges. There's a nice play area for children, complete with trampoline.Lodges are set in their own little woodland glade with red squirrels and a very friendly robin, yet less than a ten minutes walk from the shops and cafes in Ballater. We had a lovely, relaxing half-term week.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modernised lodges.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Summerlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Having stayed at the Invercauld lodges many times over the years, we were very impressed with the refurbishment that has been carried out by the new owners. The lodges are now fitted with high quality furnishings and new bathrooms and are extremely comfortable. It is such a peaceful place and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: All the lodges are well situated
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tricia042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews