We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passage in town ”

The Old Engine House
Ranked #11 of 380 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Family run coffee shop serving a variety of drinks and food from locally sourced produce. Situated in a historic building once serving as part of the city fire station.
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We loved Marco and the staff. Food was excellent and we felt like home
We had order the soup of the day with a panini, and ended with a delicious coffee

Thank mariemR9048MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

OMG, Thank you so much.
I am blushed and smiling as I respond to your review.
We are so chuffed. That's just what we aim at achieving, that who comes as guest leaves as a friend.

See you soon, we hope.

Regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2018

I'm really happy I discovered this place as I've been trying to find a really nice cafe in Carlisle for a while. The menu has a good variety of food and drinks. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they not only sell chai lattes but that they sell chai milkshakes too! The food here is very nice and is reasonably priced. I've been there 3 times in the last two weeks as i love it so much. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah6188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Hannah,
Wow, what a lovely review. We are so happy that you have found us and that you like our cafe. If you like chai, there could be another surprise specialty you might like coming on soon, stay tuned. Plus, more specials for those winter days.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Came here with my girlfriend and two kids for a coffee/soup and light lunch. Very friendly staff and the food was sooo tastefully made, especially the parsnip and chili soup. Definitely recommend, would come again if we weren't just passing through from the South of England to Edinburgh. Keep it up!

Thank Xavier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Xavier,
Thank you for your nice comments and kind words for our team.
We are truly happy that you all enjoyed the Café and your coffee and food.
We equally hope that you will enjoy the rest of your holidays in the UK.
Shall you decide to drive back through Carlisle, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We visit at least once a week and love the food and coffee but are running out of options as the food menu never changes. What about having a couple of weekly 'specials' so we are not ordering the same vegetarian options every time we visit. We would love the menu to have a more Italian flavour that could include 'Italian sandwich of the week'.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CORRIEFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi, thank you for your 5* review and for your loyalty. We do change our House Specials regularly but it is true that for the summer we have find in the latest menu a good compromise of what people love and sells the most. As a regular customer though, please do feel welcome to speak to me or a member of our team for any changes your would like, our sandwiches are all freshly prepared and we can add or replace ingredients quite easily. ...As long we have it in the fridge, it's yours.

We looking forward to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Family friendly, welcoming, clean cafe.
The food was fantastic...the quality of ingredients were very high. Staff were polite and helpful. Clearly popular with a constant turnover of custom.
My children can highly recommend the milkshakes and toasties us adults loved the wraps which had unusual but very tasty combinations of ingredients.
We opted to have a selection of deserts as well and the chocolate brownie was amazing.
Reasonably priced and a public car park just to the rear which helps if travelling in from outside Carlisle just to visit this cafe.
Would definitely return.

Thank RobertC1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco A, Owner at The Old Engine House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Robert C,
Thank you for visiting and for the lovely review. We are glad that you and your kids enjoyed The Old Engine House, the milkshakes, the brownies and your Falafel and Pakora wraps. Many thanks from our Team too for the recognition.
We all look forward to welcome you all again as soon as your travel bring you back to Carlisle.

Kind regards,
Marco, Carol & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Engine House also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to The Old Engine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing