We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger Ever.....”

The Thin White Duke
Ranked #28 of 381 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Arrived here for a late lunch and got a table for 9 in a basement like room which was cool. Most of us ordered the burgers and a correct choice. Thick homemade burgers full of flavour and handcut chips with garlic mayo. A great find and will return if in the area again.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank RyanM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

Normal 'weatherspoons' type fare, but food was ok when it arrived. Service was slow and staff not very friendly. We asked to sit at the back of the restaurant and not in the general thorough-fare on the way to the toilets. They very reluctantly agreed to let us sit on a table for four but told us we would have to move if more people came in, but this was at 2.00pm and the place was only half full? Interior is a bit quirky. This is an Independent restaurant, so we expected better service. Maybe the owner should visit more often - while the Cat is away, the mouse will play!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The food here was a lot better than I expected. I imagined a small menu that was just burgers but in fact there was a range of choices. I had the Cajun wrap which came with chips that were amazing!
The service was average, we had to wait a while for the servers to take our order and collect the dishes.
Definitely worth a visit for the chips.
I did not have an alcoholic drink but my friend had a cocktail and said it was very nice.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank becs996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday evening, had one of the downstairs cellar rooms to ourselves,
drink and food service was good. Had a variety of starters and burgers, all good with excellent thick chips. The dessert from the daily specials menu was particularly good. We tried a good selection of the quite extensive range of cocktails.
If I had a criticism, it would be the disappointingly large number of menu items that were not available or sold out.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank BigAlCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

The food and drink is always great. Today was made even better as it was Mother’s Day and I was accompanied by my 2 eldest children for an afternoon of eating drinking and shopping!
We had the bread and olives to start with (plus expresso martinis and strawberry mocktail to drink).
For the mains 2 of us had the roast beef (really recommend this) and the other had the southern fried chicken with Cajun dip and a bowl of chips.
Another expresso martini and strawberry mocktail finished, it was time for desserts - a chocolate brownie and 2 sticky toffee puddings. Again, these were delicious.
Another plus point is the staff. All staff who dealt with us were great.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank babsfab1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thin White Duke also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to The Thin White Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing