We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Angus Hotel(Carlisle)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arkale Lodge(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ashleigh House(Carlisle)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abberley House(Carlisle)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Brooklyn House(Carlisle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
226
276
136
58
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
276
136
58
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkpleasant hotelcity centrebit datedwould stay againsands centretwin roomnight porterstayed for one nightpleasant stayan evening mealcooked breakfastfull englishreturn visitmain roadexcellent value for moneysaturday night
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there over the years for work; now they are upgrading it, I would stay there for private too. Still a long way to go on making it truly modern but the reception and other public rooms are great. Given a nice room and was pleased with that; updating needed but so clean and bed comfortable. Car park getting full quickly since they are much busier nowadays but good to have on site place to park. Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: roadside noisy - main road into city from Scotland
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilsdalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Group Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

bilsdalea,

Thank you for the lovely review.

As you say we are constantly upgrading the business and really glad that it's making an impact on our guests. Currently, we are in the process of bringing online a new 'penthouse' suite and upgrading some of our classics.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and hopefully, you'll note the further upgrades we have planned.


Kindest Regards


Mr Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived Friday afternoon to be told we had a free up grade! Fast forward 16 hours I couldn't wash my hair properly due to the shower head which I asked reception to look at whilst we were out for the day, came back it was still the same. Bring your own toilet roll as there seems to be a lack of it at this hotel. The hot water tap doesn't work properly either. We shower twice a day and your towels don't get replaced whether you put them on the bath or not. Second class ratings

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 489tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Group Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

489tigger,

Thank you for your candid comments.

I do apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have a x2 man maintenance team who are dedicated to the property and normally very reactive to guests feedback. On this occasion, it sounds as though we let ourselves down. Please be assured I will take this up with the maintenance manager.

With respect to toilet roll. Whilst as a business we try to streamline costs we haven't gone that far. If toilet roll is running low it can always be requested from reception. Who in turn will always provide more.

Concerning the towels, please be assured that it isn't our policy to leave wet towels in rooms. As part of our 'green policy' when left in the bath they should always be changed. I will pass this feedback onto site management to address with the housekeeping team. Again please accept my apologies.

Hopefully, you will choose to stay with us again and provide us with the opportunity to demonstrate that your experience was not reflective of what we try to offer our guests.


Kindest Regards


Mr Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We regularly come to Carlisle visiting family and friends.
On this occasion we were unable to get anywhere else. For some reason ( probably family comments) we were always put off from staying here.
The hotel was surprisingly well priced.
It is located a nice walk from Carlisle City Centre.
On arrival the receptionist was very welcoming and pleasant and we had been upgraded .
The room although requiring upgrading was very comfortable. In fact the bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. ( This is why it was disappointing to be awoken by the fire alarm in the early hours). This has already been addressed to my satisfaction with the management via email. ( It would appear to have been a fault and the sensor replaced). My other issue was not getting a drink at the bar when we came back . ( again addressed by management speaking to the night porter).
I can't comment on breakfast because we were going to family but everyone else seemed to be enjoying theirs.
The hotel provides car parking but its very tight spaces.
If you like a beer the pub across the road is also friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daltonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Group Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dalton,

It sounds as though we are still victims of when the hotel went into administration 6 years ago. We purchased the business in 2012 and have since been re-investing profits to develop the product and ensure great customer service.

I'm really pleased you tried us and am glad our GM, Linda Clark, has been able to address your issues concerning the:

- Fire Alarm
- Evening Drink

* Whilst we don't always get everything right all the time we are very receptive to our guests and do our best to ensure their stay is an enjoyable one.

We look forward to seeing you agian very soon and maybe this time we can entice you to have breakfast with us in the morning.

Kindest Regards


Mr Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Older style hotel. Room are not too bad..
Floor boards creaked a lot in my room ..
Beds were ok..
Car park is big.
The location means a short walk to the local historical buidings and a really beautiful town ..
Breakfast was nice... only ate in the bar one night but was a lovely meal .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Vikki-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Group Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Vikki-Marie G,

Thank you so much for the 5*'s. It's great to receive them.

We've just appointed a new Kitchen manager who's been working hard for the last month to develop our overall food offering so to read how much you enjoyed breakfast and your evening meal speaks volumes for the efforts he, and his team, has put in.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.


Kindest Regards


Mr Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cumbria Park Hotel was a very pleasant find, and provided excellent service. They are in the process of renovating their rooms, so you may get a new one or an old room depending on availability. The lobby, front desk, lounge, conference area, and dinning room are updated to pristine condition. The breakfast is worth getting, comes with a good variety of options, and helps motivate you for the day ahead. We had one of the older rooms and it definitely needed updated, but that will happen in due course. The best part of the hotel is that Hadrian's Wall actually went through its parking lot and part of the ancient barrack's wall is visible at the back of the parking lot. Some of the stones from the wall are on display inside the hotel. We had an excellent experience at here!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank travelinggiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Group Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Travelinggiant,

Service is something we pride ourselves on and I have to say we have a lovely team on site who do try their best to go the extra mile.

As you say, it's our ambition, to have completed full refurbishments in all rooms within the next 12 months. As a private business, we rely on re-investing profits to develop what we offer our guests and are always working on our product.

As highlighted we sit on quite a historical site and do our best to share this 'taste of history' with our guests. During organized excavation work undertaken by the Carlisle archaeological unit in June 1984, a section of the outer wall of the Roman fort was found. It was established that the Northern wall ran right through the hotel's rear car park. Whilst the business is unable to leave the excavation open, markers can be found in the car park alongside further information. Many photos of the original dig can also be viewed in the hotel as well as some of the original stone.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.


Kindest Regards


Mr Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews