We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
17
29
20
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
29
20
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stain glass windows wedding reception stayed here for one night room was clean good nights sleep plenty of parking full english breakfast bedding ensuite cumbria
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Like a lot of people have said, the hotel is quite dated and basic. That being said, the rooms are big enough and the beds are nice and comfy. They serve a very nice breakfast in the morning. The only real negatives we can think of are some of the guests, blasting the radio in their rooms until all hours and others coming in at 3AM chatting loudly. This meant we didn't get much sleep at all, as the walls seem to be very thin. I wouldn't like this to affect anybody elses visit, as this was just the luck of the draw having noisy neighbouring guests. Staff are very nice to you.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Stayed for 1 night for a family wedding , apron arrival was greeted with friendly staff , our room was for 2 adults and a child . The room was basic and clean with a on -suite which contained a bath with shower which was run by the taps , the shower curtain had mould spots on it but this was due to no ventilation once warmed up the shower was ok , the TV worked with plenty of channels but for me the bed was very comfortable with clean sheets . The food for the wedding reception was amazing with a good selection and bar staff friendly ...The breakfast was good with a selection of cereals and juice , I had a full cooked breakfast which was hot and well cooked , I would stay again ..

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Haydn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

we opted for the buffet wedding breakfast, with desserts. Cold buffet at night. Food was excellent. The wedding cake was somewhat hacked to bits with slices resembling bricks. Rooms were outdated but clean and plenty of hot water. BreKfast selection was good. Night time was let down by the dj. If you use this hotel I would recommend you hite your own dj. Bar closes at 12.30 even for residents. Fire doors are chained and padlocked shut other than a few hours during the day, in the main concert room. Dave the manager was very attentive during the whole day/night. Take your own cake stand

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fififififififififi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on good Friday as a midway stop on our drive up to Glasgow. Fiona was great, really helpful and welcoming, a great hostess. I thought the room was really big and had what we needed for the stay, the bed was really comfy, we had a good nights sleep! The bar prices were really good, and we met afew locals for we had a good laugh with! End of the day we had a really good night, id definatly reccomend this hotel, all the staff were great, would definatly stay again when we next visit Scotland!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JistGem1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here one night as a stopover on the way to Scotland. The staff contacted us the night before to advise us of the weather conditions in Carlisle and to offer us free cancellation, which was more than some more expensive hotels have done on our trip.

The receptionist on arrival was very welcoming and helpful. She booked us in very quickly and made sure that we were comfortable and warm in our room.

The room itself was basic, but then this is not a luxury hotel. The bed was soft, and slightly lopsided, but there was plenty of bedding and it was cosy. The room was generous in size with coffee/tea making facilities and a fully functional TV with a good reception.

The bathroom was dated, but very clean and with plenty of towels.

The room was quiet, and even people in neighbouring rooms could not be heard.

The bar was functional. The dinner menu was good British pub grub, cheap and tasty.

The breakfast was acceptable. It was cheap. There was plenty of choice, and the cooked breakfast was tasty, and good value for money.

We felt that the hotel’s biggest asset are its staff, who were very hardworking, very friendly, and really made us feel special. They provided an absolutely faultless service.

The bathroom

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews