We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unenthusiastic and unwelcoming”
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #103 of 374 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub serving homemade food using wherever possible locally sourced ingredients. Food styles include pub favourites such as Scampi, Steak Pie and lasagne, grills(Steaks Gammon etc) to the more contemporary e.G. Pulled pork, special burgers, chicken with cheddar & leek sauce etc
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rose and crown has seen many hard and good times and it's been a great local pub. Until now. I feel now the pub treats itself too much of a local rather than a public place for others to enjoy a d within this standards seem to have dropped. Perhaps it's great for the ' regulars' but for those wanting an all round great experience with; service, drinks, food and atmosphere this is not the place to be. Feeling uncomfrotable but still telling your server that your rare steak t bone is cooked right through and for them to say they'd swap it with another, instantly coming to the table with a steak the chef had 'cooked for someone else's but gave to us. Again steak was cooked right through.
I'm not chef but when you're paying the prices you are for a steak and sides served to you on a special occasion you'd expect them to be able to get it right. Atleast in one deparment surely? Whether it be customer service or quality.

Such a shame to hear about a (once) great pub is.

1  Thank Dragonflycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My son took me here for father's day, although we were booked in for 7.30 we arrived at 7 and got drinks and was shown immediately to our table, we were then sat waiting until 7.35 to take our order even though there were only two tables with people eating so very quiet, we then waited a further 25 mins for the starters, once we received our mains I had requested a 16oz t bone rare, it came it was about 10mm thick and well done I could barely cut it, i asked for another and the next one was worse I was not offered any alternative so I had a starter and that was it. When we paid we were met with a most miserable bar maid who handed us the bill we paid and there was not even a thank you or goodbye so I will not be returning, it was a disappointing night which is a shame as i had been told it was good

2  Thank doog1000r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saxon333, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit. We are sorry you were disappointed with your meal. We did indeed cook you two 16oz t bones which were not to your liking and these items were not charged for.Your booking was for 7.30 even though you arrived 30 minutes earlier however we were dealing with another 40 people ahead of you which is why the order was not taken until 7.35pm.We did make our apologies to you more than once on the evening and we would have cooked you something totally different if you had asked. All our customers are important to us and on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in for a quick tea on the way home from work friendly pub although quiet when we called in .Quirky surroundings with the tree in the restaurant and a train track that went around the restaurant area.Good variety on the menu I can recommend the Cumberland sausage served with homemade chips.Well kept cellar serving great local beer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saxon333, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your visit to our pub. It is always good to hear when people have enjoyed their time with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for an evening meal when staying at a nearby Travelodge.
Friendly welcome and quickly served.
Decent pub grub, we had the beef pie, nice portions and properly hot rather than luke warm.
Would recommend and would come again if in the area.

Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saxon333, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your review of your visit to our pub. We are glad you enjoyed it and will pass your comments on to our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

As a long term vegetarian (about 55 years), I suddenly found that I have coeliac diease and cannot have anything containing gluten. It is easy nowadays to get a dish suitable for one or the other, but very difficult to have a menu that is suitable for both. Not so here. I can have a starter, my usual main,"West of Whitehaven" which consists of butternut squash "filled to the gunnels with sweet potato, peppers and onions, etc" with a delicious rich dark sauce laced with a tot of dark rum. Then a wonderful fruit sundae to finish. The chips are "safe" as well. Everyone here is very friendly too which makes it a popular place. A favourite of ours.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Englandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saxon333, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our pub. We try hard to offer food to suit many different dietary needs and we are glad you enjoy eating here. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Armathwaite, Carlisle
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing