We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Edith Cottage

 Sunny front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining
TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates
Modern Country Style Kitchen
Charming Cosy Lounge
Dining Room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Sunny front facing master bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
First Floor Bathroom situated between master and twin bedrooms
Rear Gate
Sunny rear courtyard for relaxing/drying washing!
Rear Courtyard
Edith Cottage
Secure Parking Via Security Gates
Tudor Buildings
Taunton Castle/Museum Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sian P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in many places in the area for work, but this is without doubt my favourite!

It is a perfect base for working or visiting Taunton and the surrounding area, or indeed a great retreat if you fancy escaping from the world for a few days!

The house is clean and spacious and has lovely original features as well as nice modern décor.

The owner was so welcoming and thoughtful

I am already planning my next stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy W
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ladies get together for xmas”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have known each other for over forty years and always get together for a weekend in December to do xmas shopping and eat ,drink and be merry. The cottage was lovely and very comfortable, clean and a real home from home, there was a gorgeous cake waiting for us when we got there. Jayne was very accommodating and agreed early access for us to drop our baggage off which was very nice and we enjoyed a cuppa with a slice of cake before we went out on the town. Easy walking distance to all the shops pubs and restaurants we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves so much we are returning next year. Would recommend Edith Cottage as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage with easy access to town centre
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonijasa2...
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week at Edith Cottage, where we were made to feel very welcome. The cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Only a short walk from the town centre so very convenient location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm friendly welcome
Liked least: Advertised as having two bathrooms, but only had one and a separate wc so not quite what we were expecting.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delius17
London
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Ticked every box for us!”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Exceptionally good property in every way- appearance, space, comfort, cleanliness. We felt completely at home here, and were made welcome by the owner, Julie, who left chocolates and wine for us on arrival. Parking is in a gated mews next to the cottage, and it's a five minute walk into Taunton where there are a variety of restaurants. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space for two people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterC720...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis near city centre”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It was a privilege to stay in this beautifully restored Grade 1 listed terrace. It has been fitted out to a very high standard and was equipped with all the amenities needed to make our stay easy and comfortable. Julie was very welcoming and ready to assist in any way. We really appreciated the dedicated parking space in the mews, and the double glazed windows, which made the apartment very quiet despite its proximity to the city centre. The shower does run hot and cool as the water must come up from the boiler downstairs, but this was a small price to pay for the overwhelming benefits of this spacious, comfy and very homely apartment. We would not hesitate to request a stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Double glazing, comfort and quality of amenities
Liked least: Temperamental shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing