We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home from home cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Edith Cottage

 Sunny front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining
TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates
Modern Country Style Kitchen
Charming Cosy Lounge
Dining Room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Sunny front facing master bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
First Floor Bathroom situated between master and twin bedrooms
Rear Gate
Sunny rear courtyard for relaxing/drying washing!
Rear Courtyard
Edith Cottage
Secure Parking Via Security Gates
Tudor Buildings
Taunton Castle/Museum Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Heather L
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely home from home cottage”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked Edith Cottage as our destination for a weeks Cricket at Kings College. Ideally located between the Cricket ground and town center meant we had the best of both worlds. The cottage itself has been beautifully renovated and has all the mod cons you need for a week away with the family. Smart clean and very comfortable, Edith Cottage gave us a great base. A long drive from up north was greeted with a beautiful cream tea and a welcoming host- Thank you Julie. All in all a good week and a base I would recommend for touring the local area. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, exceeded all my expectations.”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We currently live in the US and only choose to stay in Taunton because it was in the middle of two sets of Grandparents! I'm so glad we found Edith Cottage - it was perfect, with so many little extra touches it really felt like a home away from home.
The owner is so considerate and it was such a pleasure when my children and I turned up after along haul flight (completely exhausted) to find afternoon tea set up waiting for us. I would certainly recommend and hope we get the opportunity to stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallyd67
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Edith Cottage has been beautifully refurbished with all the mod cons and luxury items whilst retaining a wonderful cottage feel. Ideally located just a few minutes walk from the town centre but in a quiet, private residential area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent place to stay, in a great location for sightseeing”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here over the May bank holiday 2015. We had considered a hotel but decided instead to rent Edith Cottage and I would certainly do the same again. The level of accomodation was very high, with tea/coffee and scones/jam/cream available for us when we arrived. Edith Cottage itself has lots of character/charm but with all the modern conveniences that you could ask for. Also a great location for sightseeing. Would certainly stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiceb97...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay with extra special kind touches”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I booked for a short 3 night break and it was far too short. The cottage is lovely, Julie the owner very helpful and friendly, and the little extra touches made it very special.
Everything is immaculate , clean and obviously well loved and cared for. She has thought of everything from a cream tea waiting on our arrival along with a welcoming note, to a bowl of chocolates in the lounge.
The cottage is so handy to the town, shops and restaurants and takeaways. I would recommend it to anyone and hopefully will return ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing