We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal on a Wednesday night”
Review of The Cliff

The Cliff
Ranked #35 of 386 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$32
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited The Cliff last Wednesday for a family dinner and was greeting by the nicest waitress ever, even though she was on the brink of losing her voice she still maintained a high level of service and was incredibly friendly. The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed what they ate ( I would highly recommend the lobster and crab fishcakes). The atmosphere was great and very relaxing. Well done !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beverleyweekley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Owner at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a morning on the beach we decided that as we had heard good reviews of The Cliff we would try it for lunch. Although it is very close to the Chines it was not very easy to find and we almost gave up till a friendly local pointed us in the right direction.
Once there it was very pleasant enjoying a welcome drink and a snack in the outside seating area. The staff were very polite and friendly and the service was quick and efficient.

We will definitely return when we are in the area now we know the way.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bonjgb1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cliff. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Birthday meal. Great atmosphere, Very busy day, but service was not lacking. Lovely look to the restaurant, as would suit casual or formal meals/events. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food choices are good and good size portions. Good service with meals coming out with the right speed. Drinks choice was good also.
Would recommend and will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Jackie, thank you for the detailed review. we are so pleased we could help on a birthday meal. we really look forward to seeing you soon for celebrations and general meals out. many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch on a busy Saturday and very good it was too.

The service was excellent. Our Australian waitress could it have been more friendly and all the staff were first class / it really does add such a lot to a place.

We both had the mushroom starter - very good indeed - and sea bass for mains. All very good and would recommend it as well presented and flavoursome. It’s straightforward food with a few twists and works well.

1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a detailed review. We think our staff are amazing and it's always fantastic to read that they really added to someone's experience. We look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fathers Day visit, nicely tucked away restaurant, ample parking and close to the beach.
Set menu had a good varied range, but full menu was available too, not that we needed it.
Service was efficient, friendly and not rushed. lovely 3 course meal enjoyed by all of us.
Topped off with some coffees in the conservatory in the garden area.
Will definitely be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

John D, we are glad we could help! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing