We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely adore this restaurant!”
Review of Italian Diva

Italian Diva
Ranked #9 of 393 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited Italian Diva during our little getaway to Poole. We entered the restaurant to a warm welcome from a lovely host, seated and given information about drinks and the meals available. I am gluten-free, and I became nervous when scanning the menu to see no specification as to what I could eat or not, but upon asking, I was reassured that they were very clued up on gluten-free! The chef, Marcello even came out to tell us that he was cooking our meals (lovely gf pasta in a gorgeous ragu) with comepletely different utensils and dishes as to ensure no cross contamination. The meal itself was delicious, the perfect portion size, leaving us full but with empty plates. We found our bill, just over £40 reasonable and appropriate, appreciating that our meals were cooked from scratch, and including some wine even my partner (not a wine person) enjoyed!
The atmosphere was as my partner just called it, ‘lush’ - although not busy on a Tuesday evening, we ended up having friendly conversation with a group on the table across from us as well as the gentleman at front-of-house. The music, lighting and decor was romantic and stylish without being garish.
We can’t wait wait to come to Italian Diva again and see it’s lovely staff.

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank ag00dpers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Great find great food and fantastic wines.
Can’t fault a thing, I actually think its better than many big named Italian restaurants in London.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Adrienn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Recently came here for evening meal. The beautiful dining room drew us in from the street, it's been very thought out very well using black walls, mirrors and superb lighting, all in all a great room for an evening meal. However, all the wine is well over priced as we were charged I think £25 for a common bottle of Rose which is over doing it I think. The food was good but considering the price, very small portions and although eating very diffance food to my partner, one chicken and other fish, we had the same sauce on our food! as if one sauce covers all dishes, strange. The table service was carried out well but by one over eager waiter.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Lovely little Italian on the quay. Great food and great service, will definitely be returning soon. Also reasonably priced.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gemsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We have spent a lot of time in Italy and are real foodies, we even make our own pasta at home, so we are tough critics of Italian restaurants in the UK. That sinking feeling when you are paying a lot of money for something you could probably do a better job of at home...However, Diva is not like that, it is a class above the rest...
From the moment you are warmly greeted at the door it is as if you have stepped into a top, bijou restaurant in Italy.
The decor is classy and elegant with large black and white photographs of iconic divas adorning the walls, such as the stunning Sophia Loren.
The staff are delightful and attentive and the food...is exceptional.
We were looking for a meal down by the quay as as we were holidaying in Poole and had our two children with us, it was in fact our ten year old son that spotted the flickering candlelight from within and wanted to try it.
The restaurant were very welcoming of the children and made them feel extra special, they knew this was a real treat. They served a smaller pasta plate from the main menu for the children (thank goodness no chicken nuggets and chips in sight!!)Both children finished every last morsel of the pasta...and they especially loved the homemade icecream! My husband and I were in raptures over our pasta and calamari (which was out of this world) and the tiramisu was fabulous.
Can't recommend this little gem enough, perfect for food-lovers who want a bit if luxury and a real taste and experience of Italy, without the plane fare!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Italian Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing