We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work trip ”

Old Forge Toby Carvery
Ranked #117 of 179 Restaurants in Stevenage
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Old Forge Toby Carvery. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Stevenage’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had breakfast. It was nice. Staff were very friendly and I enjoyed the eggs. Very bizarre mind there were Yorkshire puddings for breakfast but guess that’s the thing of the Toby. Nevertheless I thought it was great for a first time breakfast eater there.

Thank Mini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow thank you so much for our review we are glad you enjoyed your visit I hope next time you visit try the breakfast Yorkshire puddings with bacon and onion cooked into them and enjoy them as much as your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have heard the old forge had been refurbished recently and as we were in the area popped in.
The car park was empty and we entered via the fire exit were a bunch of people sat out side drinking loudly.
We were seat quickly and were impressed with the interior but did not have a good look round.
It was a hot evening and the heat was unbearable not sure they had air conditioning?
We joined the small q for carvery and looking at the vegetables all dried out. The chef came out steer the pots said they were ok we thought no thanks and left.
Disappointing that the offer lets down the environment.

Thank JRT747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry that you had this experience with us please contact us directly on oldforge@tobycarvery.com to discuss further so we can rectify this with the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been here a couple of iMessage recently during the week around 1900 after booking a table.
Excellent car very with so much choice. Delicious gravy,lovely meats and veg.

Drinks not too expensive and quite an extensive choice of desserts which we got a great for 2 courses. Think we only paid an extra £2 each.

Lovely servers and bar staff. For what you pay got to give it a big thumbs up. The whole family enjoy it here.

Thank WelshLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow thank you so much for our review we are glad you had an amazing visit with us! I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team we hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Multi-meat carvery (turkey, lamb, beef and gammon) served by 2 x chefs for guests queueing along a line. Started serving at 12 noon sharp. Meats were hot and extremely tasty with an excellent selection of vegetables/salads (help yourself) and many side sauces including 3 types of gravy, bread sauce, beetroot sauce, pickles, mayonnaise etc. Good selection of deserts including really excellent tasting ETON MESS @ £4.35. Both courses came to just less than £10, really excellent value. There were 25 of us and almost everyone said the food and service was very good. Finally a special 'thank you' to LOUISE ANN HAZELDENE (aged 37) for serving us well at the bar and for looking so gorgeous. Congrats to her on her 8 years' service at the TOBY CARVERY IN STEVENAGE, next to Tesco Broadwater. Will certainly recommend and will visit again soon. Why not try it, you'll love it, Try it for lunch first and get there by 12noon, when the meats are brought out hot.

JOHN TOWNEND

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank S6772UJjohnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you so much for your review and kind words which I will pass on to the team I'm sure this will make there day we do hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Booked a table for 4 on 09/06/2018 at 18:30. This is the first time I'd been at this particular venue.

Door attendant showed us to our table and immediately noticed bird mess (picture attached) all over the window next to where we were sitting (in a corner overlooking the back garden area). This was not pleasant to look at whilst we were eating. Restaurant was absolutely packed so we didn't bother asking to move as there were no tables free.

25 minutes went by and the waitress eventually came over and took our drinks order. By this time we had all noticed that it was extremely hot and, later, as we were leaving we found out the air-con was broken and apparently Toby Carvery had refused to get it fixed.

The food can't be faulted at all; typical good Toby Carvery food. However, by the time we'd finished our meals (35-40 minutes later) the drinks had still not arrived. A couple on a small table next to us had also complained that they'd not received their drinks and were pretty annoyed. Also, a large family on a big table next to us had ordered ice cream for their children (when we arrived) and they still had not got it by the time we'd finished our meals! It appears there was only one waitress serving the whole restaurant.

I hate to leave a bad review, as I rate Toby Carvery highly, but our experience on this occasion warrants it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Old Forge Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you chris for giving us your feedback from your visit we are really disappointed to hear this but really appreciate your honesty we have had quite an increase in trade since our refurb and are still trying to keep up with the adjustment we will use this to help structure some training for the team if there are any further comments you would like to pass on you can contact us directly on oldforge@tobycarvery.co.uk once again thank you for bringing this to our attention to allow us to deal with what you have raised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Forge Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Old Forge Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing