We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for a family reunion”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Neptune

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz C
Billericay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a family reunion”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

20 family members (15 adults and 5 children) stayed for 3 nights over the 2nd May bank holiday weekend. I can honestly say I had the most wonderful time, the company of course was fantastic but was backed up brilliantly with wonderful accommodation. The Old Neptune appealed to young and old. Our favourite place was the amazing courtyard and thankfully we were lucky with the weather. We even managed a huge BBQ on the Sunday. We hardly wanted to venture out, but did wander the harbour, visited Isaacs Bar for lunch and the local park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place and communal areas.
Liked least: Some of the showers only had cold water.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alimarbex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue for a special event with lots of people”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the Old Neptune for my 50th birthday in May. We have a large family and in total accommodated 16 adults (from 35 - 75 years old) and 11 children (from 6 months to 8 years old). The venue was just perfect for the weekend. The weather was extremely kind which helped, but the safety of the courtyard which is closed in meant that we didn't have to continually worry about the children. The venue is literally seconds from the Marina and all the cafes, restaurants and pubs that has to offer. We also booked a dance studio, bowling lane and went swimming with the kids, all within a 5 minute walk of the Old Neptune.

We organised caterers for the Saturday night to do a meal for everyone and the place is so well set up that it felt like being in a private room in a restaurant. For breakfast / staples / snacks, we arranged a Sainsburys delivery on the Friday afternoon we arrived and we ate out for lunch on Saturday and Sunday.

It is obvious that the owners have either lived in the place or listened carefully to guest feedback as the attention to detail in terms of what is provided is meticulous (down to the 5 corkscrews - just in case!)

All in all, an amazing weekend - so many of the family have said we must do it again every other year. So many people have looked slightly questioning when I mentioned that we were going to Ipswich for the weekend. The Marina is great and once you are in the venue itself, you really could be anywhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halloumi1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best party house EVER!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at The Old Neptune for my hen do last month. There were 20 of us in total and we stayed from Friday-Monday. The house is absolutely stunning with plenty of room for everyone to spend time together but also enough private rooms for you to get away from the mayhem if needed. We were sent tons of info and recommendations by the owners during the booking process and they were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone needing a great social party house. We've already spoke about returning for other events in the future :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne F
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!! Can't Wait To Go Back!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, 31st July and 1st Aug 2013, the night of my wedding and the night after. Me and me new husband wanted to prolong the celebrations with our closest friends and family and stumbled across this little gem on the internet. We live in Ipswich and didn't even know it was there... but are glad we found it!
The owners were so accommodating, they let us drop our stuff off the day before our stay because they knew we'd be busy on the day of the wedding and nothing was too much trouble for them. When we arrived back there after the wedding we all relaxed in the beautiful courtyard and it finished off the day perfectly. Then the next day was also spent in the courtyard having drinks and a BBQ. Personally I wasn't allowed near the gas BBQ being a female and all, but I was told by the men in our group that it was amazing. You are in the middle of town but would never know it when you're in the surrounds of the house. A few of our friends and family who are not from Ipswich went for a stroll along the marina and loved the local area. Everything about the house is perfect. The bed rooms are all completely different and every one has its own charm. The beds are very comfortable and every room has at least a double bed, if not bigger. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need, the lounge is cosy and the fireplace is breathtaking! We had quite a few children staying with us but hardly saw or heard them at all because they were so well catered for in the games room. The weather was lovely when we were there so we didn't get round to trying the sauna unfortunately. The only thing I would suggest is, if possible, adding additional toilets/ bathrooms, but it doesn't mar your stay at all, other than that I really couldn't fault the house. We've already booked to go back with everybody next year for our first anniversary! Its been 6 weeks since we stayed and when I speak to family and friends they still mention what an amazing time they had at the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall character of the property
Liked least: Not enough bathrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yraveller...
Pershore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing, historic and comfortable”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Old Neptune House

Houses that offer a dozen comfortable bedrooms for our family holiday are not easy to find, particularly ones a splendid as this. I think everyone gasped fountain, Tudor beams and white walls when they entered the courtyard. The buildings have been lovingly restored, with fine wood- and plaster-work, and the insertion of a modern kitchen and bathrooms and electricity. The bedrooms are differently decorated and the beds very comfortable.
It is well situated, just back from the quay, and with shops and restaurants within walking distance. The limited parking did not prove a serious problem. The courtyard was much used: a wonderful and peaceful place to sit, talk, read, eat, drink and enjoy a barbecue. Some reception rooms are spacious, others are cosy. We wondered how we would seat fifteen in the dining room, but found we could all get round a table placed on the diagonal. There are books to read, games to play and so on.
The only snag we found was light in the main sitting room; it was difficult to find a place to read, but that may be because we did no find all the switches.
We stayed a week, which gave us time to explore the area. This was a wonderful base for a holiday for all ages. Kasbah is suitable for wheelchair users, but help is needed for various thresholds around the house. The bed was king-size - all right but smaller than our guests enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time with your review. Just in case of any confusion regarding the dining room, we would like to highlight that it comfortably seats 24 and can easily seat 28 on 2 long tables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing