We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great, roomy & confy house for a family or friends”
other traveller has booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
West aspect
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Old Rectory
West aspect
Lounge
Dining Room
Games Room
Library
One of the bedrooms
Garden
Garden
village lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3boysdad
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, roomy & confy house for a family or friends”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house has all you need for a nice and comfortable stay, we were a family group of 17 adults and 4 youngsters, and we had a lovely time. The house is clean and tidy, yes a little be used but certainly homely and all of us said that we immediately felt at home as we arrived at our different times.
Kitchen is very adequate, beds comfortable, and plumbing fine (Unlike some large houses that we have used before) the lounge areas spacious, the games room is a plus and fun even for us older ones, outside there is a large grassed area which was great for a family game of rounders.
Tattingstone village is very small, but there is a nice pub about 25 mins walk away and we had a nice meal there. Immediately outside the house you can start some lovely walks around the lake etc.
All in all a great place for a large gathering and Richard was very helpful before booking, on arrival and check out.

Thanks to Richard from us all

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catyekins
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant venue for large get together/celebration”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely big house with high ceilings and large rooms but feels very homely , hosted my 50 th birthday celebration for 9 couples .
The kitchen is excellent for catering for this amount of people ,with everything you might need , all the bedrooms and bathrooms are a bit old fashioned but very comfortable and clean and fit for purpose. Both large lounges have plenty of sofas to seat everyone ! The games room is very spacious with lots to do pool, table tennis etc there is also a spacious seating area in the room .
All my dealings with the owner were very efficient and he was very helpful when we were there.
Overall the house is perfectly geared up for a celebration and I 'm looking for an excuse to use it again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy to relax on this house
Liked least: No soap in the bathrooms!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
southeast
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms, space and the games room/garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your nice comments and pleased you all enjoyed our lovely Old Rectory, hope to see you all again. Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joeuser1
1 review
“Exactly what we wanted!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Superb house for a group party, loads of space in all the bedrooms. Lovely big garden, nice little village with a few pubs near by. The owner Richard is a very nice man who told us all about the property upon arrival, very relaxed and just left us to it but very helpful if called upon.... CAN NOT RECOMMEND ENOUGH!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing