We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orwell Lady Lunch cruise”

Orwell River Cruises
Ranked #3 of 10 Tours in Ipswich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sail the River Orwell in Style The River Orwell is one of the most scenic and historic rivers in the country. The Orwell Lady public cruises sail from Ipswich Wet Dock (Orwell Quay) to Pin Mill or Harwich Harbour from Easter weekend through to September. There is a programme of music evenings, wine tasting, sunday lunch and afternoon tea cruises throughout the season and the vessel is a popular venue for private charters. Tickets for all public cruises and theme nights are available from the Tourist Information Centre in Ipswich or online.
Reviewed 4 June 2017

had a very good day on this trip with three other members of my family . the food was nice and the starters were brought out to us ,we were also offered more . the information from the guide [captain] was excellent and any question answered i would recommend this trip . On our trip the lock gates were slow but the crew kept us informed to this

2  Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"container ships"
in 10 reviews
"top deck"
in 9 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 13 reviews
"lock gates"
in 8 reviews
"cakes"
in 9 reviews
"informative narrative"
in 2 reviews
"pleasant trip"
in 2 reviews
"afternoon buffet"
in 2 reviews
"lots of interesting facts"
in 2 reviews
"lovely cruise"
in 2 reviews
"interesting trip"
in 2 reviews
"meringue"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyable afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"evening cruise"
in 2 reviews
"sunny day"
in 4 reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 2 reviews
"food was lovely"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

A great way to spend a Saturday night ! Great views upon the River Orwell.
Set off at 7.30pm a lovely cruise up the river, the music almost started straight away. There was only a handful of people who went on the boat which was a bit of a shame but almost seemed like a private charter for us so I'm not complaining at all.
Most people went downstairs as it was quite windy but we stayed upstairs taking in the views.
The bar was a bit expensive we thought. 2 mini bottle of prosecco , a can of Adnams and a fanta orange was £17.00.
The buffet was lovely, made up of every different sandwich filling you could ask for. Nice and fresh too. The dessert was meringue nests with fresh fruit.
It did say on the promotional advert that it was a 2 course meal so we were expecting a restaurant style set up and hot food. We were a little disappointed but it really didn't ruin our evening.
The boat was back by 11pm. We danced sang and had a great time.
The price £39.50 per person.
I would definately do this again as it's something a bit different. It would be beneficial if it was advertised better to gain more people.
Loved it though

1  Thank Parrotlady1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma L, Owner at Orwell River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We advertise the cruise as a 'two course buffet' so apologise for any confusion this may cause. We are glad you had a fun night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We have just been on the thistle topsail barge today for trip and lunch
And it was excellent from the moment to came onboard we were made very welcome
Buy the crew skipper & Dave 1 Dave 2 and the two girls who did lunch which was really good . And the trip plus commmetary excellent trip
As there were 15 of us
So thank you thistle and crew for a memorable day

Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma L, Owner at Orwell River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

This is not us :)
Please delete and add to the appropriate vessel as they will appreciate your review.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

First time we had been on this river or in this area and found it really interesting and quite picturesque. Although there were not too many large ships in Felixstowe, it was none the less impressive. Harwich too was interesting and perhaps we may go back there at some other time to look round the town.
Fortunately the weather was kind to us which made the whole experience very enjoyable.

Thank halsteadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma L, Owner at Orwell River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

A trip down the Orwell and back.Very interesting and well informative crew.Nice to go under the bridge instead of over it.

Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma L, Owner at Orwell River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Glad you enjoyed your trip. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orwell River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Orwell River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing