We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Those Perfect Places”
Review of Great Orme

Great Orme
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Whether you ascend by foot, cycle, cable car, cable tram, car, horse or motor vehicle there is a feeling of achievement when you arrive at the top.
I love the combination of educational resources about the trams, the mining history and nature; the cafe; the sound and sight of the sheep; the remote cemetery, the not quite crazy putting; and the benches.
But most of all I like the magnificent views. When I visited on 26th June 201, a hot sunny day we could see Anglesey which appeared to be floating on mist; Snowdonia, the Conwy Estuary and with the aid of binoculars we could see the English Lake District, the Isle of Man and Ireland.
Truly this place feels magical.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank RobnLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6 512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 1 183 reviews
"toll road"
in 239 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 391 reviews
"marine drive"
in 187 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 241 reviews
"tram ride"
in 193 reviews
"walk up"
in 143 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 291 reviews
"half way"
in 262 reviews
"gift shop"
in 182 reviews
"isle of man"
in 64 reviews
"puffin island"
in 64 reviews
"great walk"
in 126 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 65 reviews
"mini golf"
in 71 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 86 reviews
"copper mine"
in 124 reviews
Filter

441 - 445 of 6 512 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed the day. Cafe at the top is lovely, food is great we had jacket potato. Go into the visitor centre and watch the info TV.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank grahamhall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

LOVE The Great Orme, Llandudno great views.will defferntly go again.Went with wife,Grandaughter,Son and daughter.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We drove to the top of Great Orme passing the halfway station for the tram en route and seeing the passengers disembarking at the upper station. It was a sunny June morning but windy and to me somewhat bracing. Below I could see farm buildings and sheep dotting the green fields. There is a souvenir shop, a mini golf course, a teashop and a panoramic view of the Irish sea.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank dumpe2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I went up to the top of Great Orme by the tram, then spent the rest of the day walking the paths, marvelling at the mighty limestone cliffs and enjoying the flowers, birds and other wildlife. There is a very interesting information centre near the top tram station, also a cafe which I didn't visit as I had brought food with me. From the summit you can see most of the top of the Orme, and sea views reaching as far as Anglesey. There are some interesting rock formations and remains of old quarries, and a few cottages and a farmhouse on the top too. I made a visit to the Copper Mines, then walked down to the town via the huge escarpment high above the pier, which gave amazing views. From there I found some rough steps which led down to Happy Valley, an attractive garden overlooking the pier, and a short walk to the seafront. The following day I climbed up onto Great Orme top via Haulfre Gardens, which are near the town tram station I walked to the far end and came down a road to Rest and Be Thankful Cafe, then walked all the way back to town along Marine Drive, passing incredible layered limestone cliffs, where I watched some rock-climbers in action. The Great Orme is a wonderful place to visit, but it can be quite cool and windy on top, even on a hot sunny day, so I recommend taking a jacket with you!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Gin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Orme also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Great Orme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing