We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The patio / Barbeque area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio / Barbeque area
1 Shimdda Hir Cottage The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The patio / Barbeque area
1 Shimdda Hir Cottage
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
Kitchen
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room
The Louge
The Lounge
Double Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llandudno, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew H
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a lovely New Year break with friends at this cottage. The place is in immaculate condition and retains the rustic feel you'd expect from a cottage such as this.

We were greeted on arrival by the host Tracy, which you receive at very few properties, and she gave us a tour of the property including how to use the AGA cooker which we had not seen before. This was very beneficial and we managed to make the most of it in the 3 days we were there. Amazing piece of kit!

The views are spectacular looking on to the cliff face out the back and the location excellent for exploring the North Coast of Wales. Please ignore the 1 star review below as it is nowhere near this level of class and pay attention to the 4 & 5 star reviews as this is a lot closer to where it should be. Thanks for a beautiful stay Tracy and hope to see you again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your comments and lovely feedback. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppy2244...
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“EXCELLENT COTTAGE, QUIET LOCATION YET CLOSE TO THE CENTRE OF LLANDUDNO”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I normally forget to leave reviews for the holiday lets I rent for my holidays, but as we were planning to rent this cottage again next year I looked on Tripadvisor to remind myself what a fantastic time we had there in September ( call it nostalgia ). Having already stayed there once, I was utterly bemused to read that one person only gave it one star - perhaps it rained all week?. We found the cottage brilliant for all our needs. We were a small group of walkers, so we were close to the mountains and Snowdonia, yet within walking distance of the centre of Llandudno ( one of our favourite destinations ). The cottage is in an ideal, quiet spot, with nice gardens and plenty of character. It was clean and bright and the owner Mrs Newell did all she could to make our stay so memorable, even when one of our party was slightly injured on a walk. We booked this cottage after recommendations from friends who had stayed here previously. We will certainly be contacting her again very soon to arrange another stay, as this year we had difficulty getting the cottage for the week we wanted due to its popularity. M.Mclean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunny garden, comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shimdda Hir.
Thank you for the lovely review.
Best wishes
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjholden
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible not as advertised”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This cottage is the worst I have rented. The plates, mugs and cooking dishes were chipped and cracked. The furniture was dirty, and not as advertised. They was no outside games or tramopline as descrided or as pictured. The place was dark and smelled musty, we came home early. They were no cleaning facilites, the bins were full. the beds were obviously old and worn out. Even the light fittings were broken. I have taken pictures and will report this setting to the tourist board. I texted the owner re no trampoline as my two girls were very upset and did not recieve a reply, until I complained on returning home. The reply was it was damaged and we did not replace it. We should have been told before accepting the booking. I was glad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: going home
Liked least: not as advertised
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
I hardly feel any need to respond, but am only sorry you are not happy.
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBX78...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely getaway cottage with plenty to do nearby”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This delightful cottage is in a pretty peaceful place which offered seclusion after enjoying time in busy Llandudno. Tracy was always on hand and was very helpful with directions-its easy to miss! The standard of cleaning could have been better but everything else made up for that. Some washing up liquid and a kitchen cloth would have been nice along with a couple of tea towels (I thought this came under linen provided) would have been useful. We didn't bring any because other cottages we have stayed in every year have provided these. We especially loved the cottage garden and enjoyed looking at all the lovely plants and flowers. A great place to stay :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thankyou for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the cottage and hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaK_9
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Find”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We might have to make this an annual trip.

Tracy was very friendly and very helpful during the inquiries and on our way there. It's easy to miss the house because the sign is quite small so keep an eye out.

Close to town and within a good trekking distance but far away enough to have some peace and quiet. There was actually quiet a bit of outdoor things to do nearby which was ideal for us.

We made use of the games and the garden on our stay there as it was February, cold and rainy on some days.

Facilities in the house was good and comfortable stay.

The kitchen appliances were more than sufficient and we cooked up a storm having bought local seafood and farm produce and made cookies during our short stay.
Great place, great facilities, reasonable price and wasn't too cold once we sussed out the heating ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Less than half a toilet roll when we arrived.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your comments and lovely feedback. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing