We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay County Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cae Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hydro Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swn Y Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oasis(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shelbourne Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Can-y-Bae(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
203
337
137
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
337
137
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings hotelsdining roomsea viewself driveshearings breaknational holidaysshearings coachevening meallovely positionentertainment roomtown centrepublic roomsmonday to fridayexcellent value for moneymobility problemsthird floorplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very well organised break, coach drivers very skilled,courtious and knowledgeable (very crowded stop over at Normanton interchange could put first time users off).County Hotel staff efficient and attentive. Food well presented different menu each night and wide choice. Our room (double, 124) clean but very small, should maybe classed as a single.
Overall a good experince and would go again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 124
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tom S
I am pleased that overall you had a good experience with us and you point out many positive aspects of your holiday. I am sorry you were a little disappointed with room 124 and take on board your comments thank you for taking the time to post a fair and balanced review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we go on a lot of holidays with shearings, either self drive or coach tours.we have always had a good time with great food and accommodation. unfortunately we have just come home after a 3 day self drive break from Llandudno very disappointed.we paid extra for a sea view room but on arriving we found we were on the top floor in the smallest room i have ever seen with a tiny window stuck in the corner. to see out of the window you had to stretch yourself around a desk and stand up to see the beach. when i turned the bath tap on i flooded the bathroom as the water came pouring out of the loose shower head. the toilet roll holder kept falling off the wall. when we went down to dinner we were seated with another couple who were total strangers, no explanation as to why was given. as it happens the other couple were very nice and friendly so it wasn't a disaster. i believe the other couple asked if it was possible to be seated on their own but were told no other tables available. also in a hotel with 100 rooms you would expect a decent lift not one that has a maximum of 2 people. overall very disappointing, will book in the marine hotel next time .

Room Tip: make sure you get a room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbilsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bobbilsand
I am very sorry for your disappointment I do hope you reported these minor bathroom problems at the time to give us the chance to put them right. Once again I do apologise for your disappointment.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just returned from a 4 day shearings coach holiday 16/3/18 - 19/3/18, we was in room 53 in the basement the room was small and verycold , we had to ask for extra heating which the hotel supplied , to make the room warmer, overall the hotel is old and in need of updating , the meals was ok , the public rooms was cold , the wi-fi was slow in the public areas , the dining room was freezing on the evening meal time , we complained at the reception and was told nothing could be done, , ( DONE NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL IN WINTER/ SPRING ) would i use this hotel again certainly not, shearings need to spend some money updating

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank biffbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear biffbet
I'm pleased to read we supplied extra heating for you when you requested it I have to say that in my opinion our lounges were not cold but because the dinning room is more open it was a lot more difficult to heat. I do think we have to be realistic about the weather and how extreme it was.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The dining room was so very cold people had scarfs and coats on. Bearing in mind most of them were older,no thought was given to their comfort.It was forecast to be cold and some people had inadequate heating in their rooms.The company should be ashamed of them selves treating guests like this. Keep away until it is warmer.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bestdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bestdriver
Thank you for you review we take on board all feedback we get and do our best to address it. The weekend you mention was the worst we have had in many years as you know and with guests coming and going opening doors etc. it can be difficult to keep all areas as hot as we would like. I can assure you the comfort of our guests in our main priority.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff on reception check in was quick and painless. We had a first floor sea view room. Lift is available but really small, holds two but tight with a suitcase. The room was large and clean although the decor is a little dated and could do with painting. Food was good three choices for dinner and buffet breakfast all decent quality. Entertainment was pretty good. Bingo then a singer it comedian (no swearing). Only really down side is that the the room as freezing cold. The heating was on and the radiator was hot but too small for the room of that size. Take a jumper in the winter folks. All in all we’d go back just hope we are not in a cold spell next time

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Stephanie B
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review we really appreciate your comments. I am sorry to read you were cold because as you say the heating was on full all weekend and we are more than happy to provide additional heating if requested.
The beast from the east was extremely bad that weekend.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews