We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
143
97
40
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
97
40
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toby carvery travel lodge toby inn vending machine post code family room no lift room was clean a ground floor room main town night stay large bed comfortable stay business trip decent size reception desk couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This is not quite standard Travelodge fare, as it has only been partly refurbished, and still has a table rather than the more usual bench style arrangement. This means that the TV does sort of swamp the table, as it is right in the middle, and not offset. Also, there is only a shower and the bathroom is quite a bit smaller as a result. I agree with the comments about being to the back, and the car lot didn't really annoy, as it stopped working around six. I will ask for an upper floor room next time, as we were on the ground floor on this occasion.
All in all, I can't give 5 stars but would give 4.5 if I could.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the back
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyrshireYeomanry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We knew we wouldn't be in the centre of Eastbourne, but we seriously underestimated how long it would take us to get into the town centre by public transport. For us, it was practically unworkable, and whilst the bus drivers were exceptionally kind and helpful, getting about without a car from this hotel was a bit of a faff.

This isn't a Travelodge that has undergone the latest - so called- improvements. As a consequence the room was really huge, the small bedside lockers remain and the furniture was quirky and distinctive. The bathroom was small, and had a door which would not even close never mind lock. We arrived to find that the toilet was full of debris from a previous guest, and the stains on the toilet bowl were not cleaned the following day. I ended up cleaning the toilet myself.

My tips if you are staying at this hotel:

1. Don't buy the over priced Travelodge continental breakfast. It is much better value to go to the Morrisons cafe (a 5 minute walk) or the Toby Carvery next door.

2. If you can use steps, go up to the top floor and ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.

We would return to Eastbourne, but we would use a more central hotel in future.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at our Eastbourne Willingdon Drove hotel.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the location of the hotel and that your bathroom was not up to our usually high standards of cleanliness.

Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Overall I enjoyed the stay, but at this time of year I woke early hours as the room was very hot, no air conditioning in the room. The location less than 5 minutes away from where I am working. Its convent and the Toby Restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for reviewing our Eastbourne Willingdon Drove Travelodge.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was hindered by the lack of air conditioning. We have taken measures to limit the nuisance caused by the heat and we do apologise if these were not sufficient to give you a good night’s sleep.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This time stayed only one night the hotel was clean, tidy and comfortable. Top tip ask for a room at the rear for less noise although it overlooks a car lot, odd room numbers. Also to say if you use the Toby Carvery on site they no longer sell hand pumped beers.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Friendly and helpful staff & free parking. Toby carvery next door serving a proper English breakfast & carvery in the evening at a good price. On the outskirts of Eastbourne but convenient for the main town.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Geoff474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews