We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
196
66
17
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
66
17
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attic room black pudding no lift full english breakfast nice guesthouse sea front town centre cooked breakfast main bedroom fluffy towels fresh fruit salad breakfasts were great great shower parking permit family room warm welcome visit eastbourne again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Proper, professional, privately run, 100% guest experience focused guedt house. Impeccably clean comfortable rooms and bathrooms, ideally located a few steps from parade and beach and minutes away from shopping centre. The owner and staff were really friendly and helpful. We were able to entertain some cousins in the comfortable drawing room with coffee/tea and biscuits.
Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious with top quality eggs, bacon, fresh tomatoes and mushrooms. Even the toast was better than anywhere else. We were a family party of 9 and we couldn’t have chosen a cosier, lovelier place than the Berkeley and are sure to stay thete again. So wonderful to find such a gem!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank lotuseater2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, General Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review .It was a great pleasure to be your host .Thank you again for choosing to stay with us .

The Berkeley Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Really wanted to give 3 1/2, the Guest House is in an excellent position, especially for the tennis which was the reason for our visit. Also very close to the seafront. Yes the parking can be a problem but if your staying Saturday night on street parking is free after 6pm and all day Sunday.
The negatives were on our arrival we found out the superior room we booked was given away to someone who couldn’t manage stairs well so we had a twin room ( which bed was pushed together fine ) but it was right at the top up LOTS of stairs, having a bad hip myself it was a struggle but was the only room left as it was a busy weekend.
Also the bathroom , falling off door handle ( inside ) and leaking shower hose need some attention.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Though the Berkeley has recently been taken over by Joy, the new proprietor, and her team, we would be hard pressed to fault any aspect of our stay. We were a group of 10, staying 3 nights for a family reunion held locally.

The location is perfect, the rooms quiet, comfortable and well equipped, the plush beds guarantee a good night’s sleep.

Joy’s striking natural charm and refined demeanour, her cooking skills and keen professional eye ensured, with the help of her newly appointed most competent staff, the perfect stay. I can’t think her enough for her welcome and efforts. A true home from home. We’ll be back

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Soulprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, General Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive review .It was a delight to be your host for your family reunion .

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future .

The Berkeley Team..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Just back from a nights stay at The Berkeley. Great location and great service. Room more than adequate. Clean and super comfy bed. No idea what has gone wrong for some of the other reviews. Mum and son running the place charming, helpful and kind. Breakfast very good. Cooked to order. Parking easy outside for £1 a day. Gentle stroll into town and seafront. Highly recommended

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank karenmw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H, General Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your positive review and choosing to stay with us .

The Berkeley Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, parking is a bit hit and miss and some of the furniture in the rooms a little tired but it is a big place and seemed like it was an on going process of keeping things renewed. A nice little sitting room available and a large dining room. Everything spotless and food lovely although had run out of pancakes. Host very friendly.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lynsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews