We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$76
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$167
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$62
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2 013)
Filter reviews
2 013 results
Traveller rating
1 192
460
225
90
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 192
460
225
90
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden restaurantafternoon teaoutdoor poolhealth clubmolton brown toiletriesmaster suiteturn down servicefive star hotelsteam roomspa facilitiessconesgarden roomsea viewbirthday treatparking spacesmoked salmonsouth coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2 013 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second visit to the grand for lunch.
Food was of good quality but vegetables were cold and plates unheated.
And yes the hotel needs bringing into the 21 century with decor and furnishings. I was shocked to see how old fashioned and dated and shoddy the furniture was especially in the bar area. Furniture is out of the 70’ /80’s , for. Luxury 5 start hotel it is definitely lacking.
Having frequented 5 star hotels in London there is no comparison apart from the excellent service.
Cocktails are also overly priced compRed with London please remember this is the south east!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sandrapalladino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good to hear that you found the service excellent but apologies for failing to meet expectation in other areas. The hotel is very traditional and this is reflected in our decor and furnishings. The new seating in our Chatsworth lounge has proved to be a great success with our guests so we are sorry it did not suit your particular taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you for another excellent stay at The Grand. Excellent service, a very welcoming atmosphere from all the staff and good food at both breakfast and dinner. We look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jimg12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Delighted to read you had another excellent stay. Thank you for such positive feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to the Grand Hotel numerous times since 2009 and this visit was by far, the worst experience I have ever encountered.

Our party of six arrived and we went through to the bar to enjoy some fizz before our Easter Sunday Lunch. The friendly staff member brought us our menus so we could start making our choice in the lounge, which was fine. After half a glass we were asked through to the restaurant. Still nobody had taken our coats, so we had to walk through with not only our coats, menus and glasses in our hands but nobody offered to retrieve our bottle of bubbly which had been abandoned in the lounge. Every other visit in the past we have had our jackets and coats taken when we have arrived.. it was embarrassing and unusual to have to be sorting coats, scarves etc in such close proximity to diners.

The restaurant is lovely with soft piano music in the background and some pretty flower arrangements.

However, it was very busy. We are certain they had added an extra two rows of tables down the entire length of restaurant which made coming and going very difficult, scraping by people's seats and weaving in and around tables to the lavatories.
Even the sweet trolley could not make it around easily (more on that later)

Our first issue came when we ordered the wine. We ordered a bottle of the chardonnay and the sommelier soon returned and apologised- apparently the chardonnays had been discontinued that weekend and they only stocked two, the house chardonnay which we have tasted before and didn't think much to and a Californian chardonnay which he offered us a taster. A few moments later he came back and apologised again but he wasn't allowed to offer a taster because the wine was not sold by the glass, just by the bottle so we blindly ordered two bottles. The was exceptional but it was at a premium to the £40 "house wine" we had originally ordered.

The rose was also very good. The table water was not cold, without ice or lemon, just finishing touches which you come to expect from establishments of this proclaimed calibre.

The service was dreadful, however. The staff were clearly over run with the extra covers and all of the wonderful attention to service that makes dining at a place like the Grand a special occasion, was missing. The young short haired waitress was very curt, unfriendly, unsmiling and lacked in any warmth or social skill. It was clear she was did not want to be there and she served every item without finesse. We had to ask for water for the table, it was never refreshed. We were offered seconds of the rolls which was a nice touch but she failed to restock our butter. She walked away without removing items we had clearly finished with- empty glasses, dishes etc. The starters of coronation chicken, hommous, and the accompanying amuse bouche were delightful, as was the sorbet. However, we had a lengthy wait after our sorbet course- in the region of 35 minutes before our sorbet dishes were cleared. In that time we had to pour our own wines, water etc. The chef who carves the beef actually arrived to serve our table when our sorbet dishes were still there and was stood waiting for somebody to clear our table.

The beef was very good, the accompanying vegetables were very nicely prepared and cooked. We asked for horseradish and extra gravy for the table and it took an age to arrive. When it was served it was plonked down without a shred of finesse or care from the female water as she turned on her heel and walked off.

The sweet pudding was terrible. It was very messy and bare. Even the server, Timotay apologised when he reached our table and gauged the disappointment on our faces.
It resembled the carnage left over from a child's buffet party. There was an eton mess, a brioche pudding, one slice of a chocolate torte and one slice of a bannoffee cake. We asked if it was possible to restock any of the selection and we were offered a strudel which was not on the menu. He offered us a serving of vanilla ice-cream which we were charged extra for when the bill arrived. The pudding wasn't particularly appetising either.
The table of two next to us also seemed to have the same problem with the puddings.

Our bill thus far was close to £500 and it sorely resembled poor value. Yes, most of the food was lovely but the service was not 5 star, not 4 either. 3 Star maximum. We were not made to feel welcome, and in actual fact the waitress went out of her way to make it clear she didn't want to serve us or be there.

We then retired to the bar where we enjoyed a selection of cocktails, wine and champagne. The drinks were to a very high quality, especially the cocktails and selection of rum. The lounge/bar staff were of a different calibre- much more friendly and engaging.

The outside of the hotel is beautiful but the interior is desperately in need of refurbishing. The lounge resembles a 1990s retirement home lounge, high backed chairs in a variety of faded and threadbare beige armchairs, reproduction mahogany tables and dull floral pictures. The arm chairs we were using were very uncomfortable and lost all of their support. One of our friend's arms on his arm chair repeatedly came away and was hanging loose from the chair. It's time to bring in an interior designer and refresh the interior to bring it up to its claimed 5 star rating because it appears not to have been changed since the early 1990s. In the dining room the ceiling above our table had sagging water damaged wallpaper and large black patches on it. It seemed dreary.
I feel awful to leave a review like this because I am fiercely proud of having a fantastic establishment in my town but really, after visiting the sister hotel Tylney Hall in Hampshire and other luxury establishments, the contrast in ambiance is startling. It is time to freshen up the interior, re furnish and return it to its full glory.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank beirutboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We offer a sincere apology for what was clearly a disappointing Easter Sunday lunch experience. We would have welcomed a direct approach to the issues you have raised. The hotel does very much value its reputation and our Management team is upset to read your comments knowing that your dissatisfaction was not brought to their attention on the day. We always welcome the opportunity to resolve complaints at the time so that our clientele leave feeling satisfied and valued. You have been kind enough to mention that there were some positive aspects to your visit so we very much hope that you will return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel entrance is magnificent!! Concierge brilliant reception good restaurant manager at breakfast great bar waitress ok
Room pretty good for the age of the building very clean. bearing in mind we were in Eastbourne the hotel was great couldn’t really fault it breakfast was brilliant albeit bad on so many levels I had a massive cooked breakfast perfect treat ! Did not eat in the restaurant went into town as I wanted a chill weekend and did not want to wear a jacket for dinner smart casual would have been fine

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank escortlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geguestrelations, Guest Relations at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall your experience was a good one. We hope that you will visit us again in the future and maybe sample our Mirabelle or Garden restaurant for dinner. A collared shirt is quite acceptable for gentlemen as the dress code in the evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One night stay room very small.
£13.50 for a him and tonic.
Where do you get them prices from.
Had to go to pub to eat and drink.
Staff very friendly.
Breakfast was ok. Paid a lot of money for my room. I have been to cheaper hotels and had a nice big room and bathroom.
Our bed was like a big single

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews