We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant(Mumbles)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Gower Hotel(Bishopston)
US$151
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachcomber(Swansea)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White House(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langland Road B&B(Mumbles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
30
36
36
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
36
36
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarlton hoteldog friendly hotelbasic hotelbooked this hotelbreakfast staffsea view roomswansea baynothing is too muchwalking holidaybrilliant stayanyone planningpublic car parkbreakfast was excellentdefinately stay againtwin bedsfantastic hotelbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Loved the sea view room with a great bay window to sit in and admire the Bay Area. Large trees did obscure our view unfortunately. The gap inbetween the trees was filled during the day with a blow up slide which was tall so the view was rubbish. Luckily the weather was good so we ventured out. Everyone was friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This was our third stay. We paid £100 for three of us to stay in the Mumbles Carlton Hotel for one night and that included breakfast. The room was clean, tidy & fresh, the bathroom was clean and big there was nothing we could fault on the room itself.
However (you think there's going to be a negative, don't you?) the thing that makes this hotel is the staff. They are all super friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much. They go that little bit extra.
On Saturday night the bar was buzzing and the hotel had a great lively atmosphere.
And for these reasons, we will always stay at The Carlton when we're visiting Swansea.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank TattyHead1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I spent two nights here on a biz trip. Exceptionally nice staff. Room was clean and neat. Breakfast is lite on fruit and long on heavy items like bacon and sausage. OJ was awful Cereals are so so. Great location in Mombles. patricks is better

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I wanted a couple of days next to the sea to celebrate my birthday and loved this hotel - unlike some people (!!) I loved it all the more because I met two beautiful four legged guests (and their very nice two legged owners!!) Yes, Susan and Poppy, I mean you - very well behaved and happy pooches. The hotel is in a brilliant location and the hike up the stairs was well worth it when you see the view from Room 44. The staff were so helpful and the lady who runs the breakfast room should get a special mention as she copes with a very busy serving with a constant smile and friendly word. Only thing I would add is a toast machine would save some wasted bread as the toast soon becomes hard and inedible left out on the servery.
Otherwise breakfast was excellent and I didn't need anything till after lunch. So, all in all well done to this hotel. I am hard to please but this was ideal for my weekend away and good value too.

Room Tip: If you can do the climb the top floor is quieter if people in the bar and view is great at the front.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireDaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay here and cannot praise the staff or the hotel enough. We (the wife and I) went with our ten year old Alsatian Poppy and from the second we walked in the door we knew we'd made a good choice. We were checked in by Greg who was amazing all weekend and even 'babysat' for us so we could go out for a meal on Saturday night so he took Poppy along with his gorgeous little dog Catlain up the pub for an hour and we met up with them later. You might be tempted to think that a dog friendly hotel would be a bit 'whiffy' - not a bit of it- it was clean and pleasant throughout, a testament to the cleaning staff. All the staff were absolutely marvellous with us and Poppy especially the breakfast staff (very nice Scottish Lady) and the bar staff. The room we had was spacious, clean and freshly decorated with a sea view. We will DEFINITELY be returning here. The only negative experiences of our stay were some of the ridiculous over dramatic reactions of some of the other guests when coming within 5 feet of a dog, you'd swear someone had just put a tarantula in front of them. IT'S A DOG FRIENDLY HOTEL YOU SILLY PEOPLE. Stay elsewhere you numpties.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews