We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very interesting barn conversion”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shorebase Annex

Shorebase
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shorebase
mezz balcony set up for listening to music & reading
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Shorebase
mezz balcony set up for listening to music & reading
Mezz level overlooking dining and living open plan
Even in winter the Gower is beautiful
My fav coffee spot just a short walk from the Annex
view into bathroom area
Bedroom with vaulted ceiling
stair well in bedroom
Or you can do one of many costal runs/walks that are spectacular
Any season is good for the Gower as there is alway lots of activities
Living area with flat screen tv
External shot of shorebase Annex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Mumbles, Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Christoph...
1 review
“Very interesting barn conversion”
Reviewed 21 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

A lovely place; quiet, secluded, sheltered from the hot sun and spacious but within easy reach of the town. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

One difficulty was the lack of anyone to welcome us or even a welcome pack. As a result we were unable to use the sound system or washing machine and, most inconveniently, internet access. We did manage to contact the owner who said she would arrange help but we heard nothing else from her. I trust this was a one-off and just our misfortune.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn W
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Shabby & Chic ?”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

First let me say that the cottage and it's decor is very querky and has lots of characture. Most of the fixtures and fittings are good however, the two sofa's are old, worn and very uncomfortable to the point of not being able to sit for more than ten minutes before you slide off. The bed whilst being very comfortable sqeeked at the slightist movement .Privacy is almost non existant as the owners cottage is only feet away (check photos), luckily they were not at home whilst we stayed. Finally parking is a nightmare and even locals say that if you can ever find a space especially at week ends don't move it again or you will never get another one, slight exageration but the point was made. All these negatives are a shame as the area is wonderful with beautiful walks, scenery, and friendly people. The cottage it'self is very clean, there is everything you need for a short break including fresh milk and biscuits laid on, but the sofas at least need replacing to give the cottage that "welcoming" feeling. The communications before we started our holiday were also good such as reccomending Restaurants etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Dear Bryn, I am glad our expensive two year old leather sofas didn't wreak your stay too much. Parking is not the easiest if you don't have a car that can go up the lane behind our property where we have a garage. I know if your not a confident driver having stone walls either side of the lane can be a little intimidating. I will take note of your constructive criticism and make sure that we have more cushions available for our guests in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely 3 nights in this property. Sarah was very accommodating when my partner was too ill to make the weekend we had booked and amended the booking to 3 weeks later at no extra cost, which we were super grateful for. The annex itself is charming and was bigger than we expected it to be. Really cosy and homely with all the amenities you need. Location is perfect, tucked away behind a house on a quiet road, but only 5 minutes from the main area of Mumbles. My only gripe was the bed and pillows were too soft so I didn't sleep particularly well, but this could be a personal thing as others may prefer that. I would definitely recommend this place to others. A great base from which to explore the Gower. The Welsh cakes on arrival went down a treat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
HI Nick,

Thank you for your review and recommendation, we will make a point to check in with other guests regarding the bed and if they are also on your line of thinking we are happy to change it out. I wish you had mentioned it during your stay as pillows are a easy fix and even a board unthe springs would have been totally doable and would have let us keep our 5 straight point rating which we pride ourselves on achieving ....I hope we get to welcome you back some time (with a harder bed)

Kind regards Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A touch of class”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A cosy and personal space with lovely furniture and fittings. Perfect for a romantic weekend or a little longer if visiting the area. Easy walking distance to the shops, Oystermouth castle and Mumbles foreshore. The only downside was the lack of parking but that need not put a dampener on your visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darna91
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning, elegant, eclectic - accommodation with that WOW factor”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

That Shorebase annex has that wow factor is something of an understatement. There is craftsmanship on show, from the skirting carved around the stone walls, the exterior lighting, to the modern and stylish kitchen. It has been furnished with impeccable taste and a practical eye with a touch of whimsy - the antique ladder as side table is delightful, as is the double sink installed on an old dresser. A slate blackboard has important telephone numbers scribbled in chalk. There are cozy blankets for snuggling in front of the TV on rainy days. The location is excellent - just a short walk to the main road where one can go on an oceanside walk or sample one of the Mumbles' excellent restaurants. We loved our weekend stay and hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and styling of the property
Liked least: Do get in touch with the owner if you're allergic to feather pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing