We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and well appointed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shorebase Annex

Shorebase
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shorebase
mezz balcony set up for listening to music & reading
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Shorebase
mezz balcony set up for listening to music & reading
Mezz level overlooking dining and living open plan
Even in winter the Gower is beautiful
My fav coffee spot just a short walk from the Annex
view into bathroom area
Bedroom with vaulted ceiling
stair well in bedroom
Or you can do one of many costal runs/walks that are spectacular
Any season is good for the Gower as there is alway lots of activities
Living area with flat screen tv
External shot of shorebase Annex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Mumbles, Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
bears47
Windlesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and well appointed”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Renovated stone barn done up in a quirky style that we loved, in a quiet corner of Mumbles.
Not only did we find all the mod cons like washing machine, dishwasher, wifi etc., but we also found a supply of bare necessities like teabags, coffee, salt, milk in the fridge and even a welcoming bottle of wine. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and the sea front. Parking can be difficult (though we found a space). Would definitely recommend this venue.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolin P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and unique little cottage”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from a last minute escape to the Gower Peninsular (Wales) with all its fabulous walks and beaches. I have never left a review but for the owner when asked. However I was so happy with this accommodation that I would like to offer my opinion. The Annex is a unique, stylish and intriguing building tucked away behind a row of houses in Mumble. It is very comfortable with sofa and great soft seating chairs. My favourite space must have been the seating area on the first floor with great light for reading day and night. The bathroom is stylish and each piece of furniture throughout the cottage collected and placed in 'its' spot. Visitors who like a unique style rather a more modern systematic look will like this. Size wise it was bigger then I expected and perfect for a couple. I would return any time but not with my children as the space is open plan and the noise of more visitors would limit the 'sanctuary' this place offered me. The kitchen is equipped with modern goods and the owner offers nice crockery and lovely glasses which matters to me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior design
Liked least: missing hairdryer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage but parking a nightmare”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The annexe is well maintained and of a high standard with character. However you must be aware that the annexe is part of the owners house and therefore you do not have complete privacy you are also overlooked when in the garden by the house opposite. There is a fire pit in the garden but we were told we were not able to use this!!! Parking was dreadful we had to pull our cases up three roads all uphill, which isn't a great start to your holiday, especially when you specifically asked owner before hand.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky B
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could easily be 5* with a little TLC”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay and would stay again. The cottage is full of character and has lovely features like a firepit, mezzanine sitting area and exposed floorboards. I have no doubt that the cottage was luxury when the 1st reviews were written in 2012, but a little TLC is needed to earn this description. We left comments in the suggestions book, but mainly some touch-ups and a thorough clean. However we have stayed many places in Mumbles and Swansea, and would still recommend Shoreline for a relaxing weekend away. It is definately cosy and comfortable. There is a great wi-fi connection, fast enough for I-player and 4OD etc.
Two notes though 1. It is not situated where stated on the Trip Advisor or Holiday Letting sites. It is up a steep hill, a 5-10 minute walk to the sea front. Ask the owner to e-mail the directions if you are unsure 2. The bathroom is not fully enclosed, having a 1-2ft gap between wall and ceiling. Your cottage mates will hear you tinkle or anything else you do in the bathroom. There is a bosse stereo in the room adjacent though :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Relaxed cosy atmosphere
Liked least: Needs a little tlc, the spiders are many!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Femtmmjmm...
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Interesting cottage with great sitting area and fire pit. Very clean with lots of thoughtful touches to make the cottage welcoming. We were a party of three and I think that four people would have been a little bit of a squash. Quiet location but close to lots of Mumbles amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing