We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Abz Y

Dirty swimming pool

Review of Ocean Beauty
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2023via mobile
Swimming pool dirty every day with leaves and dust told staff nothing was done about it swimming in a dirty pool Is bad for your health never again honey moon ruined there’s other things but I can live with them I wanted a swimming pool to enjoy but couldn’t
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Avoid this place if u want to use the swimming pool I have photos and videos nothing will be done...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 12 062
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 031
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
Doppelbett und Ausziehsofa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
0.4 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 614
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Ocean Beauty
Free parking
Pool
R 1 124
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 124
0.2 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 598
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
Très accueillant...
  • Agoda.com
    R 865
1.0 km from Ocean Beauty
View more hotels in Pereybere
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
80
46
15
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
46
15
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning nice swimming pool baie mauritius ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2023

This place is a complete misrepresentation of what’s on the pics and definitely not worth any money. The only staff on site are 1 security lady and 1 cleaning lady. No manager, no reception. Nothing.
Yet the place is right on the beach in the prime location of Pereybere.

The strange thing is that when I complained, there was absolutely no surprise or hesitation, nobody tried to explain or apologise. It was as though it were expected that guests may not be happy at Ocean Beauty. Perhaps they were used to dealing with unhappy clients going there.

Exterior: There is a shocking lack of maintenance all round, dirt bags with rubbish greeting you at the entrance, an entrance pool with no water, uncut grass. The sea-facing rooms toward the front look nice from outside but I was not willing to chance it given the overall (lack) of atmosphere and apparent neglect. Looked like it could be quite unhygienic.

Interior: The room I was assigned was a garden room. Very very basic and looked sad inside.

I had booked for 10 nights but did not stay for even half an hour, rather I requested to speak to the owner and see if I could get my money back and move to another location. Fortunately, the owner had another hotel and I managed to get a room there for the remaining 10 nights. This was a slightly better property, Ocean Villa Hotel in Grand Baie.

I subsequently spoke to 2 or 3 locals and they all said that it was well known that the owner of Ocean Beauty was putting zero into the upkeep of the place.

In that case, he should just close it down. Or somebody should. It gives Mauritius hotel industry a bad name. Don’t book it!

Room tip: Don’t book it.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Aaronsybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023

Location, location, location and nice rooms too!
Sure, if you want to stay at an impersonal Chain Hotel, you can but if you want to be in a little family style run hotel, this is your place.
For me, the best thing was the breakfast that is brought to your room every morning. Or you can choose to sit overlooking the ocean and watch the waves role in while you eat.
So to be clear, there is no restaurant, no bar, no dining room but for me that was all a pro. There is a nice swimming pool and the views over the ocean are fantastic.
The beach is at your feet and the birds are coming over to say hi every morning.
What more can you want for a wonderful island vacation!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Larissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

We got a recommendation for Ocean Beauty from a lady we met in the airport car park whilst picking up /handing over hire cars. If you believe in fate....... we booked here last minute, initially for 2 nights but we enjoyed it that much we extended our stay. Yes, there are improvements needed but after 2 years of no business/ income I can overlook some decorating and tidying up needs. The security/receptonist/ doing everything guy that checked us in admitted as such but the company is understandably reluctant to shut at peak season and has staffing issues. We booked an ocean view suite which was incredible. A beautiful big space with magnificent bathroom complete with huge tub, waterfall style shower and glass walls so you get the view over the enormous bed (all made up with flowers on the crisp very white sheets) out onto the balcony and the amazing azure sea beyond. The heated pool was great, the other outside areas need some beautifying. A small set of steps down to the beach and you're in heaven. The staff were fab and the breakfasts on the balcony looking out to sea, couldn't fault it. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for one of the first floor ocean view rooms and get breakfast delivered
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ambassador250489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2022 via mobile

Close to zero! UTTER DISGUSTING DISGRACE! No maintenance, old, delapedated, no staff - ONLY A SECURITY GUARD TO DEAL WITH! Absolute mind boggling how they can run this place.... see the pics that I was able to upload. So many more and video to see.. COMPLETE RIPOFF

Room tip: Anywhere but !
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charll_v2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2020 via mobile

We visited this boutique hotel right after lockdown was lifted in Mauritius. We were the first visitors in over 3 months.

From arrival to departure, we experienced very good service. The room we stayed in was sea facing with a lovely en suite bathroom with a stunning bath and shower.

The views are just incredible, as the sun sets directly facing the hotel. There is a small private beach and a large swimming pool as well. We had sundowners on the deck that has 180 degrees of sea views. We also had our breakfast out on the deck.

The hotel is small and intimate. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic stay, I can highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank twomapgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews