We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mawram
Helsinki

Beautiful place but the promises were not kept

Review of Ocean Beauty
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Dec 2009
We had booked and paid a one week vacation in Ocean Beauty two months before the date of our arrival. We had chosen to book Ocean Beauty because of the good reviews and beautiful pictures. We took a taxi from the airport and as we got to Pereybere driver gave a call to the hotel as he couldn't find the place. After the phone call, we were told by the driver that the hotel is overbooked and we shall be staying in a much older and more modest sister hotel Ocean Villas, until Ocean Beauty is ready to take us in. We were dissapointed and upset, both because we had to settle in a hotel that we had not chosen and because Ocean Beauty did not even bother to contact us directly, but we had to hear the bad news from the driver.

We were staying four nights in Ocean Villas and only three nights in Ocean Beauty. When we finally got to the hotel that we had booked, we insisted on some explanation and compensation, because especially after seeing Ocean Beauty we realised how much we had missed while we had to spend more than half of our holiday in this another hotel. However, even then we didn't get a proper answer from the staff. Someone from reservation department claimed that she will contact marketing director, but when after two days I went to ask if anything is happening, they still didn't have any comepensation or hardly even an apology to offer. Not an upgrade, not a free dinner, not even a bottle of wine! Finally, after three nights and on our last morning in Ocean Beauty, we were told that we could use a shower in another room after check-out before we head back to the airport. And that was our compensation for spending four nights in a wrong hotel, having to pack and unpack our things, having to travel from one hotel to the another during our short little vacation! Not to mention losing our option for free drinks and activities that were available on Ocean Beauty. To add insult to an injury, we did not even get the present that was promised for 7-night stay!

So, I would recommend the hotel for being a beautiful place. But if you want to get what you are paying for, if you want that promises are kept and if you want to be treated with respect, choose an another hotel! But maybe we just happend to be the unlucky ones, so after long consideration, I decided to give a thumb up. But that is only because of the place.
Date of stay: December 2009
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 233
R 2 638
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 228
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 233
0.6 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 784
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.7 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 287
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 291
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 293
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 290
0.2 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 991
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 163
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 417
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 163
0.9 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 352
No booking fees
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
salle de bain wc .... propret
R 891
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 893
1.0 km from Ocean Beauty
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 853
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from LBC "sundeck"
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
Doppelbett und Ausziehsofa
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Ocean Beauty
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pereybere
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
80
46
15
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
46
15
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning nice swimming pool baie mauritius ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Mauritius is so far away from the USA that I'd not do it ever again, but it was interesting to see. It actually took me two over night flights and about 40 hours door-to-door. The hotel did have a guy with my name on it when we arrived to my surprise.

The hotel was very quaint and in a good location. The rooms were nice looking, with large bathrooms and small kitchens. They only had a 4 foot high mini-fridge that disappointed me. They served us a free made-to order breakfast that was really great. We made lunches and many dinners in the room.

The capital Port Louis is large for an island in the middle of nowhere, and worth walking around in. There was some shopping since they produce textiles there. The restaurants were good, and never got sick. Taxi drivers often only speak a local mix of French.

The tile floors were dirty from a lazy cleaning staff and my own high level requirement. Had them do special cleaning of my floors, and it was fine.

Take the tour to Coconut Island and snorkel the marine park. Take the south island tour through the mountains; great views.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MakoMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Stayed here 4 nights in September and was really pleasantly surprised - we wanted to get away from the dictatorship of 'dressing-up' at the all-inclusive resorts, but were not sure how this would compare. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfy and the staff were faultless.
Just one gripe- we chose to have the traditional Mauritian meal one night on our own balcony and wanted to drink our own wine - we were told the corkage fee would be about 20€ or we could buy their wine at 24€! So we didn't bother. The meal was lovely but the wine was sadly missing.

The restaurant next door ,'Sea Lovers ', has excellent food, but it is pricey and make sure you check the bill(for those little 'extras'). Also, the owner (?) is very pushy and maybe would do well to leave his customers to enjoy their meal in peace.

We took the big 'cat' trip to Islot Gabriel in the north one day and cqn quite honestly say it was one of the best trips of my life- wonderful crew, and excellent snorkelling- we saw all sorts of fish and a reef shark - brilliant! we booked at a little place just opposite 'Sea Lovers'.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed here for the last few days of our honeymoon. It is a good hotel but not quite as jazzy as we had expected from the website and other reviews. The place is modern and makes the most of quite a small plot. Our room was modern and nicely designed and quite good value. The hotel is small and meant to be intimate, but there were several other honeymoon couples there, and so it slightly felt like you were all on top of each other. I didn't really feel like it was that romantic as a result.

There is no dining area, so breakfast, and dinner if you want it, is served on your balcony (or you can have diner on the beach). It is very nice to have your breakfast on the balcony, but order well in advance as it can take up to an hour for your breakfast to arrive which was slightly frustrating when we wanted to get out and do things.

Also although the place is meant to be a boutique hotel, it has to be said that when we were there it felt like they aren't maintaining the grounds all that well, and they had a slightly scruffy feel. The location overlooking the beach is nice though, and the restaurant next door was well worth a visit.

Overall it was a pleasant experience, and much better than staying in an enormous soulless resort full of kids, but just don't expect it to be a perfect luxury experience. To be honest I think we were on a slight downer anyway because we had just returned to Mauritius from having had an amazing time in Rodrigues, and perhaps if we had started the trip here we might have enjoyed it more!

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful relaxing week at Ocean Beauty, we were greeted with warmth and hospitality, our suite was on the first floor which was very spacious and included a kitchen. The bathroom was again spacious with the biggest bath towels/sheets you will come across. The food was excellent and what a pleasure to be served on your own terrace or down on the beach. Joelle and all the staff were exceedingly helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We have just came back from our honeymoon in Mauritius, Ocean Beauty.
First of all Mauritius- great place, beautiful, very green!!And people- I think the nicest people in the world!
Ocean Beauty- we have spent there 13 days.
Firstly, we were given (as a gift we assume ;) ) a much better room than we have paid for (we were given Garden Suite instead of Deluxe room) and a dinner on the beach (extremely romantic).
Everyday we had a great breakfast on our terrace (really excellent and great variety).
Once we had a dinner on our terrace and hotel ordered for us a musician that was playing on a guitar.
Room was very spacious (my husabnd kept there his kitesurfing equipment ;) ), with a great bath tube (for 2).
The hotel is beautiful: beautiful garden, nice swimming pool, everything very clean.And what is the most important the staff extremely nice!!! We have never ever been to a hotel with so nice people working there.
All the above made our trip so romantic that we will never forget it!
If we come back to Mauritius- for sure to Ocean Beauty.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews