We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aleksandra I

Amazing vacation!!

Review of Ocean V Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Feb 2024via mobile
The best hotel to stay at! Small, intimate, quiet. Perfectly located for living and sightseeing, close to the beach, bus stop right outside the hotel, but you can place a taxi at the hotel! Nearby is Perybere beach and shops.
The hotel itself is modest, small, two bars, an amazing infinity pool, restaurant and rooms. We got a room with additional balconies, huge, very well-kept and clean. Cleaning staff and adds water twice a day.
Spa - brilliant ladies Geeta and Vanisha. Their hands are wonderful! I could never have had such a good massage. It worked, I relaxed, I rested and my spine stopped hurting. Very nice ladies!
Service in restaurants - Brilliant! Whatever you want, spend, they take great care of everyone's needs, and that's while eating. At every step they ask if we need anything or anything else. Incredibly nice, smiling and helpful.
Additionally, the reception staff and managers are very nice, always helpful, asking how our day is going.
I highly recommend the hotel for an intimate holiday without children. If someone is looking for a small one, but with leftovers, they should choose Ocean V!
Greetings from Poland,
Alexander
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: WiFi’s so fast, adults only, taxi
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magali Mercier, Marketing at Ocean V Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 26 Mar 2024
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your comment
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again for other nice experience with us at Ocean V Hotel
Kind regards
The Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 742
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 654
R 2 595
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 141
R 1 840
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 840
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 274
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 274
0.4 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Doppelbett und Ausziehsofa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from LBC "sundeck"
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 117
  • Trip.com
1.5 km from Ocean V Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pereybere
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
347
74
20
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
74
20
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool rooftop restaurant the hotel manager warm service mr suraj turn down service for making our stay memorable spa treatments every night whole team f b hotel experience special thanks to mr seafood platter recommend this hotel lovely hotel the kitchen staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Beautiful view
Great welcome by Krishnee
Mauritian food buffet was ok
Great service from waiters Lanedo ,Deepak ,Ryan
Beach not accessible from hotel directly,have to walk 3-5mins
Good value for money …………………………………………………………………………..

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 928anjanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magali Mercier, Marketing at Ocean V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your comment
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again for other nice experience with us at Ocean V Hotel
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024

We like there services, specially restaurants staff they treat us very nicely, we are vegetarian and staff came for know our preferences for food specifically deepak and landedo. View was ok, room are not soundproof. Managing team was also very good. Our chrck out time was in moring and our flight was in night so they let us use swimming and restaurant and even booked shower before we leave for airport.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magali Mercier, Marketing at Ocean V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your comment
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again for other nice experience with us at Ocean V Hotel
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024

The service is absolutely flawless. Amazing view, great food and great Fnb team with Deepak, Lanedo and shaneesh. We had a quick check in and great service with Krishnee too. We had a great service. The rooms were clean and at all meal times, service has been great.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anooshka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magali Mercier, Marketing at Ocean V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your comment
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again for other nice experience with us at Ocean V Hotel
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Excellent service, we stayed at ocean v during a Cyclone lock down and couldn't wish for better service. They handled the whole situation very well and we enjoyed our time there even during a cyclone.

Especially big thanks to you Asha and Natasha for the best service and nice chats.

All the best/ Amanda & Emelie

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magali Mercier, Marketing at Ocean V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Dear Amanda & Emelie,
Thank you for your nice review
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again at Ocean V Hotel
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2024

This hotel is not what it appears to be in the photos posted on Booking and on its website (especially for a 4 star establishment, like it presents itself to be).

Some photos are 3D renderings, probably from the time the hotel was being designed. Other photos are most likely from the time the hotel had just been built and was still new. In reality, the hotel looks drastically different and raises serious health and wellbeing concerns.

We were supposed to stay for about a week at the hotel, having booked a room with, supposedly, a sea view, for which we paid accordingly. After we arrived, we noticed that our room not only did not have the alleged sea view (the view being blocked by trees, but also that water was dripping from the ventilation system (the hotel’s staff explanation being that it was due to condensation because of the hot air outside, compared to the cool air coming out of the air conditioning system).

Moreover, almost all of the room’s walls appeared to have serious mold / dampness issues, most probably because of poor thermal / hydro isolation. There were also insects (especially ants) in some areas of the room.

We requested the hotel’s management to find a solution to these problems, upon which they moved us to another room the next day.

The new room was on a higher floor in the hotel and had more of a view. However, the problem with the ventilation system was still present (water dripping from the ceiling), as was the dampness and mold on the hotel’s walls – the staff’s explanation for this was that because of the warm or hot temperatures outside and the cool temperature inside the hotel, these problems are present in virtually every room and nothing can be done about this.

It’s very important to note that, because of the hotel’s / Booking’s policy, the money for the room had to be paid in advance, namely before we arrived there.

This obviously presents serious problems if you are coming from another country (as is the case in Mauritius) and you discover problems with the hotel that make the stay there difficult, if not impossible – you already paid in advance and it can be extremely difficult to find lodging someplace else and, of course, you would have to pay more for said lodging, on top of what you already paid the hotel.

In the following days more problems arose with the living conditions (ants roaming around the room, a powerful sewage odor in the room and others, as will be described below).

Although we requested the hotel’s management to resolve these issues, the problems remained.

Luckily, we were able to find lodging elsewhere for the final two days, however, although we requested a refund of our payment, the hotel refused to grant us one – not even a partial refund.

Just some of the problems present with this hotel are the following:

- mold and dampness present both on the outside walls of the hotel, as well as in its rooms (from what the staff told us, this is in all of the hotel’s rooms). The plaster has fallen off the walls because of this problem;

- water dripping from the hotel’s air conditioning system, from the ceiling. Whether this is from condensation, as the hotel’s management told us, or other reasons is irrelevant. Basically, if it’s hot outside and you want to turn on the AC, you will have to live with a puddle of water in the middle of your room;

- the room’s floor was deteriorated (probably because of the water previously dripping from the room;

- a powerful smell of sewer inside the room. We asked the hotel to resolve this and they advised us to turn on the ventilation system in the bathroom for it to absorb the smell. This didn’t work. Judging from other comments and reviews, this seems to be the case for a good number of rooms;

- ants and other insects roaming around the hotel and in its rooms. We also asked the hotel’s staff to fix this issue but the insects returned the following day;

- on the room’s doors card readers have been mounted as is the case where hotels have cards instead of keys for access to the room. Also, in the rooms, other card readers are mounted on the walls so as to place the cards there after the occupants enter the rooms. However there are no cards given by the hotel as the rooms do not require them. In exchange, the card readers mounted on the doors have been drilled (with a drilling machine most likely) and underneath them typical locks can be found where regular keys are used to enter the rooms. In short, there are no cards and the card readers have been mounted uselessly and look barbaric. Moreover, the glue or whatever substance used to mount the card readers on the doors looks not only unaesthetic, but also unsanitary;

- the rooms’ rugs and other decorations and furniture are gnawed and look extremely old and, again, unsanitary;

- the metal framing of the air conditioning system mounted on the ceiling of the hotel’s corridors, as well as other metal fixtures are extremely rusty;

- the hotel advertises that it has a fine dining restaurant on the mezzanine, called Manzu, was closed (this is presented as a main attraction of the hotel). When we asked if it is open, they said it was closed for renovation, although we passed through it and no renovation was taking place. The tables, chairs and decorations were all in place, it just wasn’t being used. I wouldn’t be surprised if they’re missing the proper permits for it to function;

- the so-called “gym” is a room that appears to be approximately 10 square meters in total, with two machines and a couple of weights in it.

On a more humorous, but ultimately sad note, the hotel’s rooftop restaurant advertises that, because of its prestigious nature, elegant attire is required (trousers and shoes). I’ll admit I was aware of this, but, also being aware of the lodging conditions of this establishment it somehow slipped my mind and, at one point, given that it was 30 degrees Celsius, I went up to dinner wearing shorts. The staff turned me away however and didn’t allow me to have dinner without wearing trousers. Oh, the irony. The rooms smell like a sewer and they have mold on the walls, but the guests are required to wear formal attire at dinner.

It is absolutely baffling how this place has such a high rating on this website and how it managed to receive such reviews. Although that isn’t as baffling as how such prices are required to stay there. This is not a 4 star establishment. I’ve seen two star hotels that are cleaner and better.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J9439HIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magali Mercier, Marketing at Ocean V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Dear Sir,
Thank you for you review
We are sad to know that you experienced a bad experience at Ocean V Hotel.
Kindly note that upon arrival , we changed your room and you still didnt like the new accomodation. Our team tried their best to please you and suggested you a free upgrade in a highest room category but you refused the upgrade.
We also suggested you a free upgrade in our sister hotel, a 5* hotel situated on the beach but you refused also this offer.
Kindly note that we were facing a cyclone & due to the very bad weather, there was a lot of humidity.
As you already know, we always receive good feedback from our guests as the aaim of our properties is to fully satisfy all our guests.
All hotels in Mauritius have a dress code for dinner & this is not only an hotel policy but a general policy
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again at Ocean V Hotel in order to change your position regarding our services
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews