We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Oslo, Eastern Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Bearded_N...
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful house with stunning views”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed for three nights in January. Where to start with this house? The location is perfect. Only a 15 minute bus ride from Oslo Central train station, the house is located directly next to a bus stop. Upon entering, you must walk down a few steps to reach the house and the first thing you notice is the view.... Wow. The pictures here don't do it justice.

The house itself is incredibly cosy and warm, with a kitchen, living area, bathroom and bedroom downstairs, and then two further bedrooms upstairs in the loft. The living area has a portable speaker, TV with a few channels and Netflix (if you have an account you can log in) and lots of seating around the table. The kitchen has all the accessories you need to fend for yourself during your stay. The bathroom is perfect, and the shower is powerful and lovely and warm! The bedroom downstairs has two bunk beds which are incredibly comfortable.

Upstairs (via a vertical ladder attached to the wall - not recommend for children or perhaps less agile people) there are two double bedrooms with great views via the skylights. FYI there is no door between the two bedrooms, and you must access the second by going through the first.

The house also came with extra spare socks to keep you warm, very much appreciated after a day out walking in the snow!

I did take a dip into the water, it was so clear but incredibly cold, I'm sure this would be amazing for a swim in the summer, not so much in freezing temperatures!

Overall if I were to stay in Oslo I would definitely visit here again, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Truls and Kare were very warm and helpful, Kare even provided us the info for where we could buy one of the decorations we loved in her house!

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thank you for this great review! We loved hosting you and hope you’ll be back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki B
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful waterfront location a short hop from Olso centre”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Visited in April with two teenagers who wanted a break with a difference. The location is perfect, you're far enough away from the centre of Oslo to feel remote and peaceful yet a short bus ride away from the centre to visit all the city has to offer. Public transport was punctual and efficient so didn't need to worry about a hire car. The cabin itself was well equipped and the owners helpful and available in case of need. It was a joy to come back after each day's sightseeing, to relax with the sound of the waves and watch the sunset. Would recommend to anyone visiting Oslo, who enjoys more space and independance than hotel rooms can offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you for visiting us! Please come back some other time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie_ate...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Although we unfortunately never actually met the hosts, they were happy to accommodate in any way they could! The house was quirky and the views were absolutely amazing! Really made our trip! Thank you Truls and Kare! Will be back in the summer :0)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thanks for your review Katie, and a warm welcome back in the summer! Then we surely need to make sure we meet up...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERWYN
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Breathtaking panoramic view”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived we could not take our eyes off the jaw dropping scenery, we found it very difficult to leave the apartment to visit the rest of Oslo. There is a small jetty directly in front of the property with a table and comfy chairs, this is where we spent most of our holiday. Although the apartment is quite small it has every thing you could need for a self catering holiday. The upper level with 2 double mattresses is only accessible via a vertical ladder attached to the wall, we are both in our late 40's and managed fine with the ladder, but older or physically impaired people may struggle, I loved it. The hosts Kare and Truls a very friendly and helpful, there have put together a lot of local information about the local area in a visitors book, but they where also helpful with any requests or assistance with the apartments equipment. They are the kind of people which will respect your privacy or have a drink with you, depending on what you prefer. The location is pretty good obviously for the views but there is also a bus stop right out side which was very convenient for trips in and out of Oslo. If you fancy something different and a little quirky with a breathtaking panoramic views, you wont beat this. Personnal thanks to Kare & Truls, hopefully stay with you again in the future, cheers guys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Busy road out front
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica...
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a lovely stay here the first week of October. The location is perfect the views are incredible and it's so easy to get into the city. If we're lucky enough to go back to Oslo we'll definitely be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing