We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Ishavshotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
US$159
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Amalie Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$168
US$141
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Smarthotel Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
292
172
44
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
172
44
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationpremium roombreakfast buffethotel doorairport busamazing breakfastbusy hoteltours startfamily roomjunior suitei highly recommend this hotelcruise shipsalmonmeeting pointnorthern lightswide selectionhotel is modern
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Super location in Tromso, probably the best.

Super friendly and professional staff. Breakfast is very good, self serve with fresh breads/meats and cereal and fruits basically everything you coukd want.

Rooms are functional, and we enjoyed boat watching from our large window which was lovely if the weather is very poor its a nice place to be.

It's a relaxed hotel, super clean and will absolutely go back there in the future

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornishpixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cornishpixie1,

Thank you so much for the lovely review!
I'm so happy to see you enjoyed your stay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was nothing that really stood out about this hotel for me. However that works the other way as well because there wasn't anything negative that stood out about it either! The location was the best feature and the room was overlooking the fjord (and the Hurtigruten terminal). You are within walking distance to most of the city and there are two car parks directly outside the hotel (one of them however needs an app only downloadable to Norwegian phones). The rooms were clean and basic and there is a decent offering at the breakfast buffet.
It has got to be mentioned that this is a very busy hotel!
Average hotel in a great location! Would stay again, but would prefer rooms to be slightly more modern.

Room Tip: High floor for better views.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Yanni,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review :-)
Hope you had a great time in Tromsø!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just been to Tromsø for a long weekend and stayed at the Scandic Ishavshotel which overlooks the sea, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Booked a direct flight to Tromsø from Gatwick and returned via a connecting flight from Oslo.
I went on a couple excursions, one was a 5hr Fjords cruise and the scenery was breath taking, the other was a 7 hr Northern lights tour which I was amazed how spectacular the Aurora Borealis is.
It’s very expensive whilst eating and drinking out, I paid £13 for half a pint of lager.
I will be going back and would recommend this as a place to visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dave K,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! hope you had a great time in Tromsø :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is located strategically just right at the Tromso Harbor. Our room has a very nice and breathtaking view of the harbor. Reception people were very friendly and courteous. Room is just basic and a but small for 3 people. No tissue was provided, except toilet tissue.

Overall it was a good stay since we just spent 1 night there and just enjoyed the view outside.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ria900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ria900,

Thank you for the lovely review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews