We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
324
202
37
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
202
37
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room dance steps free walking tour central location boutique hotel rainfall shower good size excellent location bathroom door stephens cathedral airport bus bed was comfortable perfect hotel long weekend tourist attractions lovely city easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Pros - great central location, clean bathroom.
Cons - small and dark room, not ‘Mercure’ quality, tacky red decor in room and corridor, main entrance is about 50 metres away from where cars can drive up to, a musty smell in the room that no amount of air fresheners or deodorants over 2 days were able to get rid of.
Overall, you could probably get better quality accommodation for the same price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aragorn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAllabauer, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Vienna First, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Mercure Guest!
thank you for posting your feedback on tripadvisor!
We are glad to know you enjoyed our great city center location and the clean bathroom.

Unfortunately we have to read not everything was to your satisfaction. We are disappointed that you don´t like the unique boutique hotel style with typical Viennese details.
Our Hotel is located in one of the most famous areas of Vienna, inside of a small pedestrian area. That is why you cannot park in front of the entrance. But our front desk team is always happy to assist you to find the parking garage and to help you with your luggage.
Please accept our apologizes for the smell in your room. Services as described above does not match with our high Mercure Quality standards, therefore your feedback is very important for us! Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Once again we deeply regret your bad impressions during your stay in Vienna.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards

Kerstin Allabauer
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

This spot has upgraded rooms and common area, wonderful staff and nice sized rooms. The only downside was the bed- which in my opinion was angled and came with separate blankets for two. Otherwise, great location from the Metro and easy to get to .

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steves941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAllabauer, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mercure Vienna First, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Mercure Guest!
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Vienna First.
It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay, especially your kind words to our hotel staff makes us happy.

You certainly have enjoyed most of our facilities, we do hope you will be able to return to us in the near future.

Kind regards

Kerstin Allabauer
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Good location (intersection of two transport lines), not far from the center of the city (using metro), or longer just walking along the tourist street. Breakfast is very basic, but solid (so you will be full of energy before you leave the place for the day time), but not fancy, after all it is Vienna and cafes and restaurants around are waiting for you. Size of the room is not large, but enough for couple of tourists. Staff is friendly and helped us with all our questions. Please be aware that during the day sometimes you have to wait for the good pressure of the hot water (or to use warm instead) P.s: if our friends ask us about the good place to stay in Vienna - we will definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Maxim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAllabauer, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mercure Vienna First, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Mercure Guest!
Thank you for choosing Mercure Vienna First as the place to stay when visiting Vienna.
It was such a pleasure having you with us and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and the team were able to make you feel welcome, from arrival to departure.
We regret to read the inconvenience with the water pressure in your room, please rest assure I will forward it.

We really love it when guests are mentioning that they will recommend us because they had such a great time! This is by far the best compliment we can get.

We are looking forward to your next bookings.

Warm regards

Kerstin Allabauer
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Very good location, walking distance to city centre and its major landmarks, and close to both the underground and handy airport bus lines. The staff we met (both at reception and the bar team during breakfast) were both friendly and efficient. The breakfast was reasonably varied. We were offered a room far from the elevator, and it was perfectly quiet at night.
The room was a bit on the small side, and even if clean and with good maintenance, with its dark furniture and wallpaper it would have improved with better lighting. Price/quality ratio was good, if a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miquel-and-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAllabauer, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Vienna First, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Mercure Guest!
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Vienna First.
It was a pleasure having you with us and we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time in Vienna.

We are especially happy about your kind words to our helpful hotel staff and the rich breakfast buffet every morning.
Thank you for your remarks to the light in your room, I will forward it.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future visits!

Kind regards

Kerstin Allabauer
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Small central hotel in the middle of vienna. Very nice room, friendly staff, good breakfast. walking distance to everything.everything you need in the room. a lot of things to see and do around the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shebbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAllabauer, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Vienna First, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Mercure Guest!
Thank you for having taken your time to review your stay at our boutique hotel Mercure Vienna First.
We appreciate all of your kind words and recommendations, from our friendly hotel staff to the unique city center location.

You certainly have enjoyed most of our facilities, we do hope you will be able to return to us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kerstin Allabauer
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews